Author Topic: Questions  (Read 88490 times)

Jaracove

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • "I have dice that are older than our GM."
    • View Profile
Questions
« on: September 10, 2013, 12:43:12 AM »
EDIT: So as we don't bung up the Fantasy Craft 2nd Printing Q&A thread, feel free to pose any and all rules questions here

Shouldn't the Owlbear's footprint on page 226 be 3x3 not 2x2?
« Last Edit: October 30, 2013, 03:52:08 AM by Jaracove »
"Rocks fall - everyone dies..."

Krensky

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 8408
  • WWTWD?
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2013, 12:49:09 AM »
Why?
Right now you have no idea how lucky you are that I am not a sociopath. - A sign seen above my desk.
There's no upside in screwing without things you can't explain. - Captain Roy Montgomery
PSN: Krensky_   Steam + GOG: Krensky

Bill Whitmore

  • Mastermind
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 2608
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2013, 02:04:25 AM »
Just to note, the chart on 217 shows the Maximum Footprint, not an absolute footprint, so a large creature can still have a footprint of 2x2.

By a strict reading of the rules, even a Colossal character could still have a footprint of 1x1; however, I've never actually done anything like that. I generally set a footprint that is greater than the previous category but less than the maximum.
Don't follow your passion.  Take it with you.

ALL HAIL THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER!   Ramen.

Jaracove

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • "I have dice that are older than our GM."
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2013, 04:02:13 AM »
Just to note, the chart on 217 shows the Maximum Footprint, not an absolute footprint, so a large creature can still have a footprint of 2x2.

By a strict reading of the rules, even a Colossal character could still have a footprint of 1x1; however, I've never actually done anything like that. I generally set a footprint that is greater than the previous category but less than the maximum.

Ok thanks Bill
"Rocks fall - everyone dies..."

Jaracove

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • "I have dice that are older than our GM."
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2013, 04:37:57 AM »
Page 229
If I choose Initiative 'II' that nets me a modifier of '0' at Grade 1. To confirm, that still costs 2 xp even though it's a +0 modifier?
"Rocks fall - everyone dies..."

Lifer4700

  • Operative
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • Professional Thread Necro
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2013, 05:00:30 AM »
Yes.

It may seem strange, but keep in mind that the system is designed to be flexible to adjust to party level.

That Init grade II is the same as Init grade I at Threat Level 1, but at TL 2, Init II is +1, while Init I is still +0.  And they will never be equal again.

It's just one of those special cases at TL1 where there's no actual advantage to having Init II vs Init I.

You'll see the same thing with many of the Trait Grades for the first few Threat Levels.


If you are designing an NPC that you know, in your campaign, will always be at a low Threat Level, then simply save the XP and drop the Grade.  It will be a more accurate representation of the NPC's overall rating.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 05:05:33 AM by Lifer4700 »

Jaracove

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • "I have dice that are older than our GM."
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2013, 05:05:14 AM »
Yes.

It may seem strange, but keep in mind that the system is designed to be flexible to adjust to party level.

That Init II is the same as Init II at TL 1, but at TL 2, Init II is +1, while Init II is still +0.  And they will never be equal again.

It's just one of those special cases at TL1 where there's no actual advantage to having Init II vs Init I.

You'll see the same thing with many of the Traits for the first few Threat Levels.


If you are designing an NPC that you know, in your campaign, will always be at a low Threat Level, then simply save the XP and drop the Grade.  It will be a more accurate representation of the NPC's overall rating.

I was just going to ask that; I'm better off not applying a level if it's going to grant me 0xp or do I have to take them?
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 05:06:58 AM by Jaracove »
"Rocks fall - everyone dies..."

Lifer4700

  • Operative
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • Professional Thread Necro
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2013, 05:06:27 AM »
Yes.

By the way, I've made some edits to my original post because it sucked...



Jaracove

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • "I have dice that are older than our GM."
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2013, 05:12:18 AM »
Yes.

By the way, I've made some edits to my original post because it sucked...

Ok thanks Lifer4700, I edited mine too but I think you are saying I don't have to take those grades if they offer me nothing.
"Rocks fall - everyone dies..."

Lifer4700

  • Operative
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • Professional Thread Necro
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2013, 05:25:28 AM »
Yes, but be careful.

Don't modify existing NPC blocks simply because there's no difference.  For example, if an NPC calls for Attack Grade VI, and you need Threat Level 7.  Don't drop it to Attack V to save XP.


If you're designing a custom NPC, plan for the future.

Even though Init II offers nothing over Init I at Threat Level 1, once the party levels up and that NPC is now, say, Threat Level 14, there's a difference of +3.


The NPC definition should remain consistent throughout its entire career of Threat Levels.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 05:31:10 AM by Lifer4700 »

Jaracove

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • "I have dice that are older than our GM."
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2013, 06:12:14 AM »
Ok thanks for the advice

Does anyone else experience the pdf of the core rules sticking whilst scrolling through its pages?
"Rocks fall - everyone dies..."

Jaracove

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • "I have dice that are older than our GM."
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2013, 08:10:19 AM »
Could someone please check that I've built this correctly please?

It's my first attempt and I want to get it right. I could give it damage reduction and possible a few other things, but I'm mainly concerned with the numbers being right. Total XP: 76



Finally, to make sure I've got it, is this correct, a petrifying bite:


Attacks/Weapons: Bite I (dmg 1d6 lethal; threat 1820), Petrifaction ((petrifying attack I: Fort DC 10 or be turned to stone; upgrades: supernatural attack (bite))

2 XP for Grade I bite
+5 XP for Grade I Petrifying
+2 XP for Supernatural Attack
+5 XP for raising the DC to 10

Costs 14 XP total?
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 08:33:20 AM by Jaracove »
"Rocks fall - everyone dies..."

MilitiaJim

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4925
    • View Profile
    • My lame little LJ
Re: Questions
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2013, 08:41:46 AM »
I counted 76XP.

May I suggest dropping the Strength an upping the quality of the attack?
"Quemadmodum gladius neminem occidit, occidentis telum est."  ("A sword is never a killer, it's a tool  in the killer's hands.")
- Lucius Annaeus Seneca "the younger" ca. (4 BC - 65 AD)

Jaracove

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • "I have dice that are older than our GM."
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2013, 08:46:31 AM »
I counted 76XP.

May I suggest dropping the Strength an upping the quality of the attack?
Sure, I'll take the advice on board for future reference

Thanks

I know upping the Grade on a natural attack can improve the critical range, but can you can drop the threat rating of extraordinary attacks?

For example, a breath weapon doing a crit on a natural roll of 19?
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 08:49:02 AM by Jaracove »
"Rocks fall - everyone dies..."

Lifer4700

  • Operative
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • Professional Thread Necro
    • View Profile
Re: Questions
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2013, 08:48:44 AM »
I didn't think you could have a Grade 0 trait.

I thought that all five of them had to be at least Grade I.

Quote
NPCs have five Traits Initiative, Attack, Defense, Resilience,
and Competence each of which is scored with a Roman Numeral
grade ranging from I to X (1 to 10).  p228