Author Topic: Martial Artist Questions  (Read 852 times)

Jackal_mkII

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • Jackals at the Table
Martial Artist Questions
« on: November 05, 2012, 01:52:03 PM »
Greetings all! Rolling a Martial Artist and just need to verify a couple of things.
Wuxia I: Since the Jump check is not capped by height the total distance jumped is d20 + Skill bonus + 5 + 50%. Does this mean that if I roll a 20 and have a bonus of 5, then 25 + 5 +50% = 45? With a running start, my character leaps 9 squares, no Threat activation required, even if their total speed is only 20ft?

Finishing Move: If my target is a special character, and I would do damage to his wounds, I can deal no damage to impair one of his Attributes to exactly 1. If I impair his CON to 1, does that mean his max wounds becomes 1? If it's a particularly Tough Standard, does his damage Save now take a -5 attribute bonus?
http://jackaldice.blogspot.com/  Noob gamer reconciles 4 years of gaming observations. Updates Wednesdays.

ludomastro

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 2126
    • View Profile
Re: Martial Artist Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2012, 02:26:01 PM »
Don't have my books handy so I'm not going to try for the first one.

On the second, were you at my table, I would rule that the Standard goes down or spends his first grade of Tough - however, that is houserule territory.  However, I believe your explanation to be correct in both cases for the RAW.

Krensky

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 8386
  • WWTWD?
    • View Profile
Re: Martial Artist Questions
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2012, 02:42:19 PM »
Greetings all! Rolling a Martial Artist and just need to verify a couple of things.
Wuxia I: Since the Jump check is not capped by height the total distance jumped is d20 + Skill bonus + 5 + 50%. Does this mean that if I roll a 20 and have a bonus of 5, then 25 + 5 +50% = 45? With a running start, my character leaps 9 squares, no Threat activation required, even if their total speed is only 20ft?

Finishing Move: If my target is a special character, and I would do damage to his wounds, I can deal no damage to impair one of his Attributes to exactly 1. If I impair his CON to 1, does that mean his max wounds becomes 1? If it's a particularly Tough Standard, does his damage Save now take a -5 attribute bonus?

He only cleared 30 feet because his base move of 20 reduces his jump to two-thirds.

Temporary impairment doesn't effect wounds. No both would be at -5 for con based as based saves.
Right now you have no idea how lucky you are that I am not a sociopath. - A sign seen above my desk.
There's no upside in screwing without things you can't explain. - Captain Roy Montgomery
PSN: Krensky_   Steam + GOG: Krensky

Jackal_mkII

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • Jackals at the Table
Re: Martial Artist Questions
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2012, 09:12:29 PM »
Quick responses and so few questions left for me to ask...   Man, I love this forum.

Thanks for the clarification.
http://jackaldice.blogspot.com/  Noob gamer reconciles 4 years of gaming observations. Updates Wednesdays.