Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 25, 2014, 05:40:50 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

+  Crafty Games Forum
|-+  Products
| |-+  Mistborn Adventure Game
| | |-+  Pools of less than 2 dice, penilty to outcome
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Pools of less than 2 dice, penilty to outcome  (Read 609 times)
oxinabox
Recruit
*
Posts: 30



View Profile
« on: July 19, 2012, 10:51:08 AM »

If for example,
I ended up with a pool of 1 dice,
for some task of difficulty 3,
And I rolled 2 3s,
so my result is 3.
I am at -1 to outcome, so my outcome is a net -1.

But I succeed, since it is the result vs difficulty that determines whether or not you succeed, right?
(see page 143)

So this is a unique time when I succeed,
but with a complication.
Logged

A New Dusk: Alloy of Law Adventure Game
http://www.crafty-games.com/forum/index.php?topic=6148
With twinborn, compounders, guns, explosives
---
Please stop titling topics: "Quick Question" etc.
It isn't helpful
JMobius
Recruit
*
Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 11:03:56 AM »

I thought it was always Outcome vs Difficulty that determines success or failure+complications. So, in this case, you fail with one consequence.
Logged
Dreamstreamer
Agent
***
Posts: 198



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2012, 12:27:31 PM »

The reference should be Pg. 145. "If your Result equals or beats the Difficulty, the roll (and your character's action) succeeds."

I like oxinabox's idea of "success, with a complication." Your action was a barely passable success, but it will likely hamper the others there with you. Although the odds that such an event occur in the first place are pretty remote. How often does one usually have only one die to roll?
Logged
oxinabox
Recruit
*
Posts: 30



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2012, 09:39:58 PM »

Hemalurgy,
Burdens,
negitive circumstances,

Copper, acting against brass/zinc,
reduced standings.

I think it *should* be outcome vs difficulty
Logged

A New Dusk: Alloy of Law Adventure Game
http://www.crafty-games.com/forum/index.php?topic=6148
With twinborn, compounders, guns, explosives
---
Please stop titling topics: "Quick Question" etc.
It isn't helpful
Crafty_Alex
Crafty Staff
Control
*****
Posts: 3249


Damned if I do, damned if I don't.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2012, 11:48:04 PM »

JMobius has the right of it. Going below 2 dice is intentionally harsh precisely because it is so rare. To remove this penalty is to remove one of the biggest deterants to abuse of Hemalurgy.just FYI.
Logged

oxinabox
Recruit
*
Posts: 30



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2012, 12:38:19 AM »

But Alex:
The reference should be Pg. 145. "If your Result equals or beats the Difficulty, the roll (and your character's action) succeeds."
is a correct quote.

Unless is has been erata'ed?

Logged

A New Dusk: Alloy of Law Adventure Game
http://www.crafty-games.com/forum/index.php?topic=6148
With twinborn, compounders, guns, explosives
---
Please stop titling topics: "Quick Question" etc.
It isn't helpful
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!