Author Topic: Readied Actions  (Read 1303 times)


  • Jr. Agent
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Readied Actions
« on: July 09, 2012, 01:52:26 PM »

Is it possible, when your turn comes up in the declaration order, to declare a "readied" action? (that is, an action that is contingent upon someone else's action, and will happen only when, if ever, the "triggering" action occurs.)

Example: Thorrow and Koel have encountered a trio of koloss. Thorrow declares that he will use his spear to stab the first koloss that gets within stabbing range. This action gives him twelve Action Dice, while the koloss have ten, but he does not act until they get close enough, which happens on their turn.


  • Operative
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
    • View Profile
Re: Readied Actions
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 03:41:33 PM »
Not by the rules.

It wouldn't be hard to allow such in the game though, where it made sense, but given the overall design of the rules I would be careful in readied actions becoming too common.


  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9883
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Readied Actions
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2012, 05:10:18 AM »
This is one of those cases where we intentionally left a traditional second-tier RPG rule out of the mix, knowing that it would be trivially easy for folks to work out at the table without a printed reference. Simply let characters delay their actions until later in the same round if desired and use remaining Action or Defense Dice as a tie-breaker in the event that there's confusion about who goes first at a critical juncture. :)
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

Google Plus:

In game terms, reality is broken.