Author Topic: OGL Conversion - Initiative  (Read 578 times)

Segreant

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
OGL Conversion - Initiative
« on: March 28, 2012, 05:52:11 PM »
I've got a question about the OGL Conversion rules for initiative. The book says FC initiative grade is OGL initiative bonus + 2. Should that be OGL initiative bonus including Dex bonus or excluding Dex bonus?

I'm working on a spreadsheet to automate the grunt work of OGL conversion with the desired output being a stat block that can be loaded into the NPC builder. It isn't clear yet whether the final result is going to be sufficiently useful to be worth sharing, but if it is I will. I've currently got 'include Dex bonus in initiative' as a configurable option.

Soulcatcher

  • Jr. Agent
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: OGL Conversion - Initiative
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 06:15:41 PM »
Based on cross-referencing a few monsters with their SRD equivalent, I'd say including.

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9813
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: OGL Conversion - Initiative
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 06:37:10 PM »
It's been a while since I looked at the underlying math there, but I recall that it's including, yes.
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Segreant

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: OGL Conversion - Initiative
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2012, 07:10:49 PM »
Thanks. I'll code it as including.