I think my answers should all be accurate, but hopefully someone will chime in if I get something wrong
My question pertains to how to Characters without players keep up? On paper my players were happy to give up a few stat points to become Kandra to play a noble for example, since they could shapeshift at what they considered minimal loss. I know the game doesn't try to balance things out completely, I don't think that's the goal. However how do non powered characters fair in the long run, do the two traits really make up for what they lose? As I see lots of discussions on powers in the forums I was wondering if anyone even liked to play characters like Dox from the books. I have only run two sessions so what myself and the players see on paper could work out totally different than we expect.
Generally we have found that powered characters are stronger than non-powered ones. That said, a non-powered character can quite happily boost their attributes and standings to levels that powered characters struggle with and running around with 8+ resources or influence could be a lot of fun. All the same, if the campaign goes on long enough I think you will find most un-powered characters taking on powers. Having powers just expands your options so much and for a lot of things (particularly combat) powers can allow you to get really large dice pools that an un-powered character couldn't match. Still, even an un-powered character has a lot of potential for upgrades and coming up with a situation for your character to snap in if you do
decide to become an allomancer down the line (for example) can lead to great story possibilities.
So basically, it can work and having someone with particularly high standings can be awesome, but they will probably end up taking powers eventually (in my experience.) Most players choose someone with powers, but you can have plenty of fun with an un-powered character, and being able to choose an allomantic power/s later down the line is a nice perk. How good the two traits are really depends on how well you pick them.
To look at things from a direct math standpoint let's take 2 characters. One starts as a thug misting with average powers and strong/weak attributes and standings. The other starts with no powers and strong/average attributes and standings.
After a number of sessions they both progress to the exact same point having:
-rating 5 pewter with 1 stunt
-22 (13 + 9) total points in attributes and standings combined
-2 bonus traits
To get to this point the thug has to spend
-0AP on powers
-5 AP * 2 to raise one of his attributes or standings twice (or raise 2 different ones once)
-4 AP * 2 to get the two bonus traits
18 AP total
The un-powered person has to spend:
-10 AP to snap into a thug with rating 4
-5 AP to increase that rating to 5
-4 AP to get a stunt
19 AP total
So they end up exactly the same with only a difference of 1AP cost. The point here is that worrying about larger costs down the line really shouldn't effect your choice if you are considering becoming a misting down the line. If you are thinking of becoming a mistborn or keeper it is a very different story as having a rating of 1 higher in all
powers is significantly more valuable.
I haven't read Alloy of Law supplement (since I haven't read that novel so I'm not spoiling myself just yet), do non powered PCs get stunts of their own? Since all the powered PCs have loads of choice for stunts, I can't find any in the base book.
There are gun stunts in alloy of law that give non-powered characters more room to upgrade, it's good
(Though naturally powered characters can also take them.)
I couldn't find a clear phrase in the book but; when you resolve a standing conflict and your attribute goes down by 1, is this some form of tracking or does it reduce your stat for all subsequent rolls until you recover that attribute?
When making rolls using your standings you use what you have currently available. So if you have 6 resources and you have used/lost 2 of them and you then made a resource roll you would have 4 dice (+traits/circumstances/whatever).
In changing the world section it describes some abilities you can use with only 6 or more dice, this slightly relates to my previous question. If the attribute has been reduced so that you only have 5 dice instead of 6, you can not make the roll correct? However can you make the roll if something boosts your current role, say something working for you or a trait? So you have 4 dice but two traits increase it to 6, does that work?
I'm not actually sure if the rules ever state either way, though crafty may well have answered it at some point. Regardless, how we play and how I strongly suspect it works is that you need to have 6 or more available points to make those rolls. So if you had 6 resources but had used 1, you wouldn't be able to gather troops.
Prop section p110; For props such as Steel plate, when it says the number of props you may have drop by 1. This means that it effectively takes up 2 prop slots correct? The wording confuses me a little. So say you have 4 max props, take steel plate. You now have 3 max props and 1 chosen. Is that how it's meant to work? If that is correct is there any reason it reduces your max props instead of just taking up 2 slots?
Yeah it's a slightly weird way of saying it, I find it easiest to just think of it as taking up 2 slots. I don't think you're missing anything here, it's just a different way of working the same thing.
A bit of a lore question on Inquisitors
You remove the centre spike from their back to kill them, though which spike is it? As in which metal?
I don't believe we know for certain which spike it is, though I suspect it is the spike that grants them gold feruchemy.
Hope that helps.