Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 24, 2014, 07:26:03 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

+  Crafty Games Forum
|-+  Products
| |-+  Fantasy Craft
| | |-+  1 Level Mages and Spell Points
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: 1 Level Mages and Spell Points  (Read 678 times)
Fenn Grunberg
Recruit
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
« on: November 20, 2011, 09:30:25 AM »

Hi, if I have understood it well, 1st level Mages can cast only 0 level spells, right? Why, then, do they have 2 spell points available at that level?
Are they using them if they want to add tricks to their spells?
And if so, where are these tricks in the rulebook?
Sorry, but I've just skimmed through the rulebook, and didn't read it completely. In any case, I'm absolutely convinced that this is the best d20 interpretation I've ever seen and read.
Many thanks,
F.G. Cheesy
Logged
Agent 333
Control
******
Posts: 2033



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2011, 09:39:50 AM »

The answer is yes, to add tricks. The tricks are available to mages that take one of the Spell Conversion feats in chapter 2 (pages 106 and 107 of the first printing, not sure if that's the same in the second).

Another answer is that the Spell Point advancement is linear, and there's no reason NOT to give the mages their spell points. It would look odd to have 0, 0, 6, 8, etc. and could potentially screw up a multi-classed spellcaster (even more than multi-classing normally does).
Logged

When all your problems are nails, all your tools start looking like hammers.
Fenn Grunberg
Recruit
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2011, 10:23:50 AM »

Thank you very much again!
F.G.
Logged
pawsplay
Powered By Publisher
Control
******
Posts: 1423


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2011, 10:37:09 AM »

Also, they might already have levels in another spellcasting class (there just aren't any other spellcasting base classes in the core book).
Logged
Crafty_Alex
Crafty Staff
Control
*****
Posts: 3249


Damned if I do, damned if I don't.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2011, 04:10:42 PM »

Another reason that may not be immediately evident is that "specialist" casters (that is, other base class spellslingers found in our upcoming Spellbound supplement who can only cast 1 School, like Reaping, Enchantment, or Channeling) can also cast Level 1 spells at first level. Mages, being able to freely choose from the full gamut, pay for their flexibility with a slower access to power - but when they can finally start casting Level 1 spells they have plenty power banked up Smiley
Logged

Mister Andersen
Control
******
Posts: 10776


I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2011, 04:06:20 AM »

So specialists are Sith?
Logged

LordKruelos
Handler
*****
Posts: 998



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2011, 05:40:16 PM »

So specialists are Sith?

The Reaper is the best Necromancer/Witch's Curse Class I've ever seen.
Logged
Crafty_Alex
Crafty Staff
Control
*****
Posts: 3249


Damned if I do, damned if I don't.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2011, 05:46:18 PM »

So specialists are Sith?

The Reaper is the best Necromancer/Witch's Curse Class I've ever seen.

Thanks!
Logged

Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!