Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 23, 2014, 02:29:34 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

+  Crafty Games Forum
|-+  Products
| |-+  Mistborn Adventure Game
| | |-+  Tale of Two Houses - brainstorming
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Tale of Two Houses - brainstorming  (Read 400 times)
Skywalker
Operative

View Profile
« on: November 01, 2011, 04:34:58 PM »

I am brainstorming some ideas for my first Mistborn game. Hopefully something that will generate a good 4 to 6 sessions of play. I am relatively new to the Mistborn universe and obviosuly the RPG has yet to be released, so forgive any mistakes Smiley Any thoughts appreciated.

This is early days so its not fully formed. It also has some similarities to the Final Empire story, but hopefully distinct enough to be its own story. I want the story to include the following which were also parts I like about the novels:

1.  Allow for multiple avenues. I like mix of the seedy side of the job with the dazzling lights of high society. When you mix this in with scope and high action, you get a good mix.

2.  I wanted to have it mean more than just profit. I want to include personal and dramatic elements. The PCs should care about what they are doing, the people involved and whether they succeed.

3.  I want it to have a number of layers, so I can add twists and complications as needed. A single solution tends to make the game too goal focussed and makes it hard to manipulate the story to keep up the drama.