Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 31, 2014, 12:47:11 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

+  Crafty Games Forum
|-+  Community
| |-+  Customer Service
| | |-+  Player Locator/Database?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Player Locator/Database?  (Read 8489 times)
Antilles
Mastermind
Control
*****
Posts: 2943


Do I look like a people person?


View Profile
« on: June 18, 2007, 08:04:54 AM »

I realize you guys are still working, fine-tuning the site and all that, but I was wondering if you had any plans for making a proper database we can use, or if we'll have to use the wiki again.

It would be kinda cool if you could tie it into user-accounts directly, a small area dedicated to Player Database, where you could check a box to say you want to be in the database, and some fields where you can enter pertinent information, like location (country or country/state and nearest city), GC and/or player, online and/or real-life, and when you're available.

Dunno if it is at all possible with the software you're using, but I think it'd be a fairly cool addition.
Logged

"After all is said and done, more is said than done."
- Aesop
Crafty_Alex
Crafty Staff
Control
*****
Posts: 3249


Damned if I do, damned if I don't.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2007, 10:58:37 AM »

This is something I very much want to do, but it's going to need to wait a little while, as it seques nicely with another project we'll be working on. I remember Kagemaru threatening to put something together along these lines...now that we have a PHP site, it should be possible for him to put one together as an interim solution Smiley
Logged

Kagemaru
Recruit
*
Posts: 22


Covert Ops Specialist


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2007, 06:58:37 AM »

heh, yeah but not as nicely integrated as Antilles wishes it to be. I was offering an external solution, as my SMF hacking skillz are non-existant. ^^;;
Logged
Desertpuma
Control
******
Posts: 4290


Highest Level LSpy Agent 16th, almost 17th


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2007, 01:53:22 PM »

I thought this was certainly happening on the LSpy site.
Logged



Living Spycraft Masterm
Darth Sephiroth
Jr. Agent
**
Posts: 89



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2007, 03:20:04 AM »

An easy solution would be to add a forum for open game adds or for players looking for games.
Logged

A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.
-Herm Albright
NezMaster
Handler
*****
Posts: 683



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2007, 07:56:50 AM »

I wold like that very much. I know there are at least two people on this forum who are in my area, but I've never posted anythign because i feel there is no place to do so.
I travel some, so I wuold love to know where people are, or let them know I'm travelling.
I never added to the wiki becuase I couldn't figure out how. Someone on this forum said there was something up, but I couldn't find it. So yes, any place where these things could be placed would be cool!
Logged

90% of all statistics are wrong.
Chimera
Jr. Agent
**
Posts: 75





View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2008, 01:09:00 AM »

This might help...

http://www.frappr.com/spycraft20community

I just set it up so I hope I got it right. Smiley
Logged

Join the SpyCraft Community to locate other SpyCraft GMs and Players near you! http://www.frappr.com/spycraft20community
Ferretz
Agent
***
Posts: 123


The ferrets are restless!


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2008, 10:17:40 AM »

I added myself. As I expected, I'm the only Scandinavian who plays Spycraft  Embarrassed

E.
Logged

"So far the shock of finding a disembodied, screaming head in a box, causes a greater response." -Result of Brainiac science experiment.
Merxiless
Jr. Agent
**
Posts: 97


Control - Joint Operations Group


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2008, 11:38:09 AM »

Trying to register for this, I think I was able to add myself to the map.

However, in trying to get an account, i get the following message, when I click Join:

"Unable to safe captcha-image."

The rest of the page is blank.

Clue Chain, anyone?
Logged

Control - Joint Operations Group
Antilles
Mastermind
Control
*****
Posts: 2943


Do I look like a people person?


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2008, 11:55:59 AM »

I added myself. As I expected, I'm the only Scandinavian who plays Spycraft  Embarrassed

E.

Misery loves company Wink.
Logged

"After all is said and done, more is said than done."
- Aesop
Ferretz
Agent
***
Posts: 123


The ferrets are restless!


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2008, 12:18:29 PM »

Seriously, none of the gaming stores in Norway even have Spycraft. But then again, I'm used to order my stuff from London Smiley

E.
Logged

"So far the shock of finding a disembodied, screaming head in a box, causes a greater response." -Result of Brainiac science experiment.
Chimera
Jr. Agent
**
Posts: 75





View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2008, 12:21:14 PM »

Trying to register for this, I think I was able to add myself to the map.

However, in trying to get an account, i get the following message, when I click Join:

"Unable to safe captcha-image."

The rest of the page is blank.

Clue Chain, anyone?


You're on the map.  You *might* be able to register if you hit the "sign in" link.  It offers a "register now" option, which I believe is what I had to do after getting the same message you reported.
Logged

Join the SpyCraft Community to locate other SpyCraft GMs and Players near you! http://www.frappr.com/spycraft20community
Antilles
Mastermind
Control
*****
Posts: 2943


Do I look like a people person?


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2008, 05:29:26 PM »

Seriously, none of the gaming stores in Norway even have Spycraft. But then again, I'm used to order my stuff from London Smiley

E.

Really? I know Outland had a decent stock of 1.0 books, and I think Avalon had some as well. I can't remember if they had the 2.0 book, though... And yeah, I had to make a special order with the store (which they happliy accepted), only snag is they've still not gotten it yet. Oh well, I've got the pdf's, I can manage Smiley.
Logged

"After all is said and done, more is said than done."
- Aesop
Merxiless
Jr. Agent
**
Posts: 97


Control - Joint Operations Group


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2008, 07:38:53 PM »

Quote
You *might* be able to register if you hit the "sign in" link.  It offers a "register now" option, which I believe is what I had to do after getting the same message you reported.

Both sign-in and join links give me that same message. 

Perhaps something to do with my using firefox?


Logged

Control - Joint Operations Group
Ferretz
Agent
***
Posts: 123


The ferrets are restless!


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2008, 03:13:58 AM »

Ah, so we do have another Norwegian here? Smiley
Outland do have some 1.0 books, but they don't even know about 2.0. Which means very few players in Norway will get to play it.

E.
Logged

"So far the shock of finding a disembodied, screaming head in a box, causes a greater response." -Result of Brainiac science experiment.
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!