Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 01, 2014, 07:35:27 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

+  Crafty Games Forum
|-+  Community
| |-+  Play-by-Post
| | |-+  DESTROY ALL MONSTERS!
« previous next »
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 Go Down Print
Author Topic: DESTROY ALL MONSTERS!  (Read 8854 times)
vardeman
Operative
****
Posts: 285



View Profile
« Reply #135 on: October 05, 2010, 11:15:31 PM »

Quick aside on Hornetor's Dive, vardeman: where are you seeing rules for bonus movement on a flying dive? Not that I'm nitpicking--I've just never seen them and it sounds wicked awesome.

Sorry, I must be trying to insert that from the 3.X ruleset.  That basically said that movement up was at half and movement down was doubled.  I'll adjust my actions to 2 moves and 1 attack.

V
Logged
Mister Andersen
Control
******
Posts: 10681


I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know


View Profile
« Reply #136 on: October 05, 2010, 11:55:46 PM »

Distance d travelled by an object falling for time t:    

d = 1/2 × g × t2 = 16 × t2
 

Time t taken for an object to fall distance d:

t = sqrt(2d/g) = sqrt(2d/32)


Which is a round about way to say that in grossly simplistic terms -- ignoring things like mass and drag due to surface area --  it takes slightly over 3.5 seconds to drop 200 ft, but I thought people might find the maths interesting.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2010, 12:00:20 AM by Mister Andersen » Logged

Mister Andersen
Control
******
Posts: 10681


I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know


View Profile
« Reply #137 on: October 06, 2010, 10:30:24 AM »

Is it alright if I rebuild Pele?
Logged

glimmerrat
Control
******
Posts: 3517


Iconoclast


View Profile
« Reply #138 on: October 06, 2010, 10:48:16 AM »

Is it alright if I rebuild Pele?

Mid-battle?
Logged

VAO Control; Crafty Freelancer; Freethinker

"If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world."
Dhampire
Operative
****
Posts: 438



View Profile
« Reply #139 on: October 06, 2010, 10:54:37 AM »

DC 25 Fort save vs dying (I choose to make this save first)
DC 25 Fort vs. dying (1d20+24=25) Wow, typical.  Thunderbird fails. Shocked
[/spoiler]

Ragnarok, couldn't you just spend an Action Die and succeed at that save vs death from massive damage?
Logged

I aim to misbehave.
Mister Andersen
Control
******
Posts: 10681


I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know


View Profile
« Reply #140 on: October 06, 2010, 10:59:45 AM »

Is it alright if I rebuild Pele?

Mid-battle?

Thunderbird is dead, be it either this round or the next
Logged

Ragnarok
Recruit
*
Posts: 37



View Profile
« Reply #141 on: October 06, 2010, 02:15:13 PM »

DC 25 Fort save vs dying (I choose to make this save first)
DC 25 Fort vs. dying (1d20+24=25) Wow, typical.  Thunderbird fails. Shocked
[/spoiler]

Ragnarok, couldn't you just spend an Action Die and succeed at that save vs death from massive damage?
I thought ones were automatic fails no matter what.  In either case, I agree with Mr. Anderson, Thunderbird was going to have to make 3 hard will saves to even get a chance to act due to the immolation and all his Frenzy was used up.  If ones are not autofailure for saves, I would appreciate a head's up for future reference however.
Logged
Dhampire
Operative
****
Posts: 438



View Profile
« Reply #142 on: October 06, 2010, 02:37:39 PM »

Ragnarok, couldn't you just spend an Action Die and succeed at that save vs death from massive damage?
I thought ones were automatic fails no matter what.  In either case, I agree with Mr. Anderson, Thunderbird was going to have to make 3 hard will saves to even get a chance to act due to the immolation and all his Frenzy was used up.  If ones are not autofailure for saves, I would appreciate a head's up for future reference however.

I thought this discussion came up before. :p

Ragnarok, as was pointed out to me recently... an error only occurs when you roll in the error range AND a check fails.  Since your check succeeded, it's not an error, and thus can't be a Critical Failure.

And, actually, I only see threats/errors for Skills and Attacks, not Saves.
Good to know.  Thanks

Of course, if glimmerrat wants to have 1's auto-fail for this Kaiju rumble-fest, I'm cool with that.
Logged

I aim to misbehave.
Ragnarok
Recruit
*
Posts: 37



View Profile
« Reply #143 on: October 06, 2010, 03:28:58 PM »

Ragnarok, couldn't you just spend an Action Die and succeed at that save vs death from massive damage?
I thought ones were automatic fails no matter what.  In either case, I agree with Mr. Anderson, Thunderbird was going to have to make 3 hard will saves to even get a chance to act due to the immolation and all his Frenzy was used up.  If ones are not autofailure for saves, I would appreciate a head's up for future reference however.

I thought this discussion came up before. :p

Ragnarok, as was pointed out to me recently... an error only occurs when you roll in the error range AND a check fails.  Since your check succeeded, it's not an error, and thus can't be a Critical Failure.

And, actually, I only see threats/errors for Skills and Attacks, not Saves.
Good to know.  Thanks

Of course, if glimmerrat wants to have 1's auto-fail for this Kaiju rumble-fest, I'm cool with that.

Wow, I am so used to systems where 1's are auto fail it just didn't register.  Thanks.
Logged
Gentry
Powered By Publisher
Control
******
Posts: 2818


It's a Trap!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #144 on: October 06, 2010, 05:52:28 PM »

That's the beauty of a "heroic" system, my man.  Smiley

Of course, it also means 20s don't always succeed, so take it as you will.
Logged

I'm a secret VAO Control (Shh!)

Check out Wyrmstone for FC Open Source campaigning

Have you joined Knife Rights yet?

Live and game in Flyover Country? Join Tornado Alley Game Guil
glimmerrat
Control
******
Posts: 3517


Iconoclast


View Profile
« Reply #145 on: October 07, 2010, 12:18:45 AM »

No, 1s aren't auto fails on saves. However, if Ragnarok is happy to call it a day, then that is what we shall do. Victory to Pele!

Also, unless Foproy objects then Hornetor should just roll the 20d6 falling damage to speed things along.
Logged

VAO Control; Crafty Freelancer; Freethinker

"If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world."
vardeman
Operative
****
Posts: 285



View Profile
« Reply #146 on: October 07, 2010, 01:37:48 AM »

Last post is now edited to show the fall damage (poor roll :-( 56 = 14 below average)
That should prompt a table of ouch and a death save, right?
« Last Edit: October 07, 2010, 02:00:28 AM by vardeman » Logged
Mister Andersen
Control
******
Posts: 10681


I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know


View Profile
« Reply #147 on: October 07, 2010, 10:28:48 AM »

     Pele II (Enormous Elemental Spirit Horror Flyer/Walker 225 XP): Str 15, Dex 10, Con 15, Int 10, Wis 10, Cha 10; SZ E (40x40, Reach 5); Spd 30 ft. ground, 100 ft. wingless flight; Init IV; Atk VIII; Def VIII; Res X; Health VIII; Comp X; Skills: None; Qualities: Achilles heel (cold), class ability (burglar: evasion II), clumsy, cold blooded, condition immunity (frightened), contagion immunity, critical pause, damage immunity (stress, subdual), damage reduction 5, fearsome, feat (Agile flyer, draconic heritage, draconic legacy, fast flyer, fire brave), frenzy II, knockback, lumbering, menacing threat, monstrous defence III, never outnumbered, sterner stuff, superior runner I, swift attack I, tough V, treacherous, unnerving, veteran V.
     Attacks/Weapons: Burning Glaive (Extraordinary Attack IV: 10d10 fire, threat 20, qual: AP 4, cord, reach +3). Dragon's Breath (Extraordinary Attack: 2d6+2 fire, threat 20, 20 ft beam, DC 14 Ref save for half damage). Fire Walk (Trample V: 6d8+2 fire, threat 1820, AP 10, Fort (DC equal to damage) or become sprawled, affects Gargantuan and smaller only). Jagged (Gore I: 1d12+2 lethal, thr 19-20, qual: bleed)
Logged

vardeman
Operative
****
Posts: 285



View Profile
« Reply #148 on: October 07, 2010, 11:52:24 AM »

Correct me if I'm mistaken, but aren't extraordinary attacks limited to one per round?

V
Logged
Dhampire
Operative
****
Posts: 438



View Profile
« Reply #149 on: October 07, 2010, 12:30:27 PM »

Correct me if I'm mistaken, but aren't extraordinary attacks limited to one per round?

V

True, except for Frenzy.  Frenzy extra actions can include an extraordinary attack, but there's limitations.
Logged

I aim to misbehave.
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!