I do realize this is a pretty stupid question at this point in the game, but.
When you multiclass, do you get the proficiency points from the new class you're getting? I think no, but I have to confirm.
Also, are skill points gains retroactive? Like, when you increase or decrease your INT?
(Yes, my book is FC first printing. The deadtree came a bit late)
The second printing clarifies your first point:
You start with the proficiencies listed in your first base class
and do not gain the proficiencies listed in any other class. After
Career Level 1, proficiencies are only gained as shown on Table
1.4: Career Level (see page 27).
I'm not sure where or if it's listed somewhere, I'll have to go and find it, but I think the general rule with FC is that things are always retroactive to prevent weighting of levels, there might be a better answer further down the line.
Also, "there are no stupid questions except those unasked" and all that business!
Here's a post way back in this thread were Arakor talked about the same thing: http://www.crafty-games.com/forum/index.php?topic=2837.msg50762#msg50762
Looks like the answer was that it does, in fact, retroactively increase skill points.