Author Topic: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread  (Read 233480 times)

Fastidious Monk

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • There's always a 4.5% margin of error; + or -
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1275 on: October 03, 2012, 09:36:07 AM »
Does Blindsight negate Blur?

Thanks

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9781
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1276 on: October 03, 2012, 01:58:32 PM »
Does Blindsight negate Blur?

I would rule yes - unless there was some mitigating reason why it shouldn't. (I'm not seeing one now, but there's always that possibility.)
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Fastidious Monk

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • There's always a 4.5% margin of error; + or -
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1277 on: October 17, 2012, 08:47:25 PM »
A character in my group had to Cheat Death and he rolled a two with a Tragic Fate.  He has no skill foci, but he is a Priest.  How would it work with a Priest losing 2 spells?  Does he just get off as being lucky?

Thanks


Mister Andersen

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 12028
  • I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1278 on: October 18, 2012, 01:17:20 AM »
They lose their Alignment and have to find a new one.

MilitiaJim

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4736
    • View Profile
    • My lame little LJ
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1279 on: October 18, 2012, 07:36:26 AM »
They lose their Alignment and have to find a new one.
"My god has forsaken me.  I will find A NEW GOD."
"Quemadmodum gladius neminem occidit, occidentis telum est."  ("A sword is never a killer, it's a tool  in the killer's hands.")
- Lucius Annaeus Seneca "the younger" ca. (4 BC - 65 AD)

Mister Andersen

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 12028
  • I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1280 on: October 18, 2012, 07:46:03 AM »
That was indeed my thinking.

Krensky

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 8332
  • WWTWD?
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1281 on: October 18, 2012, 08:31:15 AM »
Alternatively, just re-roll.

A Crisis of Faith subplot can work if the players are up for it. Note that the Priest will be forced to do without half of his class abilities until its resolved.
Right now you have no idea how lucky you are that I am not a sociopath. - A sign seen above my desk.
There's no upside in screwing without things you can't explain. - Captain Roy Montgomery
PSN: Krensky_   Steam + GOG: Krensky

Elvith Gent

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Le monde de Niil (French med-fan universe)
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1282 on: October 19, 2012, 04:42:59 AM »
In my gaming group, there is a Priest dealing with a Crisis of Faith. Actually, it's been months since the subplot started ! Yes, he has lost a lot technically speaking, but as for today his secret is unrevealed and so he can still command the faithful ;) Moreover, the player really enjoys the role-playing that comes with the Crisis.
 
So I think it's not that horrible for your player, if he's ready to accept it of course ^^

Hoping my English is not nonunderstandableÖ

Fastidious Monk

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • There's always a 4.5% margin of error; + or -
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1283 on: October 19, 2012, 01:27:33 PM »
Thanks for the answers; now another question:

What negates or blocks Deathwatch?

I thought maybe Mind Blank, but it says Divination spells automatically fail.  Deathwatch is Necromancy.  But Mind Blank also says "...character canít be magically observed in his location...".  I assumed it was intended for Scrying, but is this enough to block Deathwatch?

Thanks


Psion

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 1531
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1284 on: October 19, 2012, 04:58:22 PM »
Thanks for the answers; now another question:

What negates or blocks Deathwatch?

I thought maybe Mind Blank, but it says Divination spells automatically fail.  Deathwatch is Necromancy.  But Mind Blank also says "...character canít be magically observed in his location...".  I assumed it was intended for Scrying, but is this enough to block Deathwatch?

That could go either way. I dislike absolutes in game, so I for one would be okay saying that Deathwatch is a detection that defeats mind blank, perhaps with a minimum DC requirement or opposed roll vs. the caster of Mind Blank.
The Secret Volcano Base: my RPG blog currently discussing Fantasy Craft and Freeport!

Morgenstern

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 6437
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1285 on: October 19, 2012, 05:22:20 PM »
Thanks for the answers; now another question:

What negates or blocks Deathwatch?

I thought maybe Mind Blank, but it says Divination spells automatically fail.  Deathwatch is Necromancy.  But Mind Blank also says "...character canít be magically observed in his location...".  I assumed it was intended for Scrying, but is this enough to block Deathwatch?

You're generally safest doing exactly what the rules say the first few times out - which in this case is Mind Blank blocks what it says it blocks: divination spells (which Death Watch is not).
At your own pace: Do. It. Now.
How about some pie? - Heroes of the Expanse

Murdyll

  • Crafty n00b
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1286 on: October 22, 2012, 01:23:32 AM »
I know this probably boils down to a GM call, but is there any particular reason why an NPC's spells known don't count towards their XP cost? As I understand it, an NPC's XP is a rough indicator of the difficulty of the NPC, so why is it that an NPC can have Spellcasting I (1 XP), but know a 9th level spell, with no change to the XP? I may be misinterpreting the system, so some clarification would really help here.

Mister Andersen

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 12028
  • I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1287 on: October 22, 2012, 01:38:21 AM »
Because they'll never be able to cast that 9th level spell. NPCs have to make exactly the same check as PCs

Murdyll

  • Crafty n00b
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1288 on: October 22, 2012, 01:57:18 AM »
Because they'll never be able to cast that 9th level spell. NPCs have to make exactly the same check as PCs

Thanks. I had figured there was some kind of "unwritten" intrinsic limit I was missing. But what of an NPC with Spellcasting IX that has nine 9th level spells?

Sletchman

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4111
  • Gentleman Scholar.
    • View Profile
    • The SletchWeb
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1289 on: October 22, 2012, 02:02:30 AM »
I know this probably boils down to a GM call, but is there any particular reason why an NPC's spells known don't count towards their XP cost? As I understand it, an NPC's XP is a rough indicator of the difficulty of the NPC, so why is it that an NPC can have Spellcasting I (1 XP), but know a 9th level spell, with no change to the XP? I may be misinterpreting the system, so some clarification would really help here.

Knowing a bunch of spells isn't actually a threat.  Being able to cast them is.  So to be a threat the NPC needs adequate Spellcasting skill, Spell Points and probably Charisma / Feats to make their spells harder to resist.  All those things cost plenty of XP.  Plus, don't forget that PCs get their spells for "free" via Spellcasting ranks (so it's kinda like the NPCs follow the same rules).