Author Topic: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread  (Read 227488 times)

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9764
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1215 on: August 25, 2012, 08:48:43 PM »
When a character is subject to a surprise round once combat has started (say via an opponent using ambush basics), are they automatically rendered flatfooted?

I would say, "yes, conditionally" - by which I mean, I wouldn't rule that it's always the case, but it seems like it would be most of the time. I'd reserve the right to not have one or more targets become flat-footed based on their positions, current actions, awareness, and a variety of other factors.
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Sletchman

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4111
  • Gentleman Scholar.
    • View Profile
    • The SletchWeb
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1216 on: September 03, 2012, 11:48:04 PM »
Mostly to Pat or Alex (I'm after intent of RAW), but happy to see opinions:

Can you apply tricks to free actions granted by other tricks?

Clarifying example:  I have Sword Mastery and Charge Basics.  Charge is a Run Trick.  Can I apply Bury the Blade to the Free Attack that is granted by my Charge Trick?  I can see two interpretations - on one hand, you are applying a trick to an action that already has a trick (Run with Charge + Bury the Blade).  On the other, you are applying a trick to a run action, and a separate trick to an attack action (Run + Charge // Attack + Bury the Blade).

Just curious which is the intent of the "one trick per action" rule.

Thanks.

Bill Whitmore

  • Mastermind
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 2523
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1217 on: September 04, 2012, 01:09:42 AM »
Relevant rules seem to be:
      Charge (Run Trick): You may make 1 free attack at any point during your movement

      You may apply a single trick to any action listed in the trick’s description. You may  not apply more than 1 trick to any action.

      FREE ATTACKS: A  character  may  occasionally  gain  1  or  more “free  attacks,”  which  are  single  attacks  that  cannot trigger other attacks. Each free attack is a free-action Standard Attack and may be boosted with tricks and other  rules.

Taken collectively, free attacks are NOT part of the action that gave you the free attack.  They are a "free-action Standard Attack".  As a separate attack action, since you can apply 1 trick to any given action, you can apply a trick to the free attack you gain while using the Charge(Run Trick).
« Last Edit: September 04, 2012, 01:47:45 AM by Bill Whitmore »
Don't follow your passion.  Take it with you.

ALL HAIL THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER!   Ramen.

tfwfh

  • Operative
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1218 on: September 04, 2012, 11:41:15 AM »
I agree with bill, but with the caveat that if it bogs down during play it's completely reasonable to disallow this kind of thing.
Who's the more foolish, the fool or tfwfh?

Rohas

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1219 on: September 04, 2012, 11:05:09 PM »
I'd like to see what Crafty's official response is, but I'd go with "The distract affects all three, but only one is fixated".  It's more inline with other things in the system - Sneak Attack and Critical Hits only work on the first hit of a multi-hit attack, and this seems fairly similar.

As written all three are fixated. Also, each target is rolling separately versus the single Distract roll and the sneak attack and critical hit things are explicitly called out, so it's not necessarily a general rule.

OK, now that I've played FC a few times and seen this in action, along with reading how other tricks work, I think I know what my problem with it is.  Almost every other trick has some sort of "flaw" associated with it, either a limited number of uses per scene (based off of action dice or # of Same type feats) or failure penalty (flat-footed, etc).  But as written, a player (with an attractiveness of 3) can tie up to six minions per round (two distracts per round), for three separate rounds, for a total of 18 minions in three rounds.  Which gets even higher as the attractiveness goes up.  My thoughts are to tie the use of the Yowza! trick to the number of style feats of the character.  However, to throw my player a bone (since she didn't design her mage with a lot of style feats in mind), I was thinking of tying the number of uses for her (specifically) to starting action dice until the number of style feats outstrip them (freely admitting that might never happen).

Or maybe I'm overlooking some flaw that happens at later levels.   I mean, I know the fixate isn't always successful (no major downside when that happens), and each target gets a chance to shake it off.  In this instance, my players were 3rd level and it was the Raveners from "The Darkest Hour" (undead could be fixated, who knew) and they pretty much had to role a 20 to come out of this. 

Coyote0273

  • Operative
  • ****
  • Posts: 469
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1220 on: September 05, 2012, 06:23:17 AM »
Or maybe I'm overlooking some flaw that happens at later levels.   I mean, I know the fixate isn't always successful (no major downside when that happens), and each target gets a chance to shake it off.  In this instance, my players were 3rd level and it was the Raveners from "The Darkest Hour" (undead could be fixated, who knew) and they pretty much had to role a 20 to come out of this. 

You can also add downsides that fit the story for failure. I had a Bard Sage try to beguile a Hydra with music (soothing the savage beast stuff) and crit failed. Hydra spent the rest of the fight thinking he was the most delicious looking of the party and tried to eat him specifically. Granted, that's a critical failure, but the premise works the same.

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9764
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1221 on: September 05, 2012, 11:25:22 AM »
Relevant rules seem to be:
      Charge (Run Trick): You may make 1 free attack at any point during your movement

      You may apply a single trick to any action listed in the trick’s description. You may  not apply more than 1 trick to any action.

      FREE ATTACKS: A  character  may  occasionally  gain  1  or  more “free  attacks,”  which  are  single  attacks  that  cannot trigger other attacks. Each free attack is a free-action Standard Attack and may be boosted with tricks and other  rules.

Taken collectively, free attacks are NOT part of the action that gave you the free attack.  They are a "free-action Standard Attack".  As a separate attack action, since you can apply 1 trick to any given action, you can apply a trick to the free attack you gain while using the Charge(Run Trick).

Thanks Bill! This is the intended interpretation.
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Mister Andersen

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 11926
  • I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1222 on: September 05, 2012, 02:44:22 PM »
What about a trick that grants a run action; would you be able to apply Charge to that?

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9764
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1223 on: September 05, 2012, 03:07:24 PM »
What about a trick that grants a run action; would you be able to apply Charge to that?

Until and unless I see anything approaching a recursive loop via the option, yes.

Expect anything approaching a recursive loop to be errata'd. ;)
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Sletchman

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4111
  • Gentleman Scholar.
    • View Profile
    • The SletchWeb
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1224 on: September 05, 2012, 08:01:06 PM »
Cheers.  That was my interpretation, but it's also nice to know for sure.

Mister Andersen

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 11926
  • I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1225 on: September 07, 2012, 03:43:37 AM »
As best I can determine, once the prep-time has passed (6 rounds normally, 2 rounds thanks to Ambush basics), an Ambush check itself is by definition a free action.

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9764
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1226 on: September 07, 2012, 02:22:32 PM »
As best I can determine, once the prep-time has passed (6 rounds normally, 2 rounds thanks to Ambush basics), an Ambush check itself is by definition a free action.

It's a 1-minute check where the roll doesn't come into play until the end, but yeah, same difference (except for rules that apply to free actions - those don't apply to Ambush checks, if that's what you were thinking).
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Sletchman

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4111
  • Gentleman Scholar.
    • View Profile
    • The SletchWeb
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1227 on: September 07, 2012, 04:11:18 PM »
As best I can determine, once the prep-time has passed (6 rounds normally, 2 rounds thanks to Ambush basics), an Ambush check itself is by definition a free action.

It's a 1-minute check where the roll doesn't come into play until the end, but yeah, same difference (except for rules that apply to free actions - those don't apply to Ambush checks, if that's what you were thinking).

Do you have to do anything specific during the 1-minute?  I was under the impression that your 1 minute (or 2 rounds) were taken up fully by "preparing", is this not the case?

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9764
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1228 on: September 07, 2012, 08:05:18 PM »
Do you have to do anything specific during the 1-minute?  I was under the impression that your 1 minute (or 2 rounds) were taken up fully by "preparing", is this not the case?

It is the case, yes.
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Sletchman

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4111
  • Gentleman Scholar.
    • View Profile
    • The SletchWeb
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1229 on: September 08, 2012, 12:33:03 AM »
Cool, just wanted to be certain - thanks man.