Author Topic: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread  (Read 299880 times)

Sletchman

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4112
  • Gentleman Scholar.
    • View Profile
    • The SletchWeb
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1200 on: August 10, 2012, 08:48:02 PM »
If you're talking Predator vision, then I would call that Darkvision II.  But if you mean more like an expanded visual spectrum like snakes and birds, then I'd say Darkvision I and/or Improved Sense (Sight).

It's for a Construct (an automatic guard robot, to be precise).  It determines intrusion by seeing the heat bleed of a suitably sized (small to large) body, and attacks the source.  So it's really difficult to just sneak past (you need to find a way to block the heat, too), and can see through many things.

I initially considered Blindsight, but that doesn't work (it can be blinded, and you can hide from it - both are just difficult).  Dark Vision II seems like a good start, because light penalties are certainly far less a factor.  I thought I might need to make a new quality, but I'm just failing to brain this afternoon.

Coyote0273

  • Operative
  • ****
  • Posts: 471
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1201 on: August 10, 2012, 09:30:09 PM »
Natural Spell: Infravision.

Use the stats for See Invisible, but RP it out as being able to see the heat trails of characters rather than just invisible characters. Rest is just fluff that you can tweak to fit the scene.

Mister Andersen

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 12345
  • I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1202 on: August 10, 2012, 09:40:05 PM »
Or you could just give it a ridiculously huge Notice/Search bonus

Sletchman

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4112
  • Gentleman Scholar.
    • View Profile
    • The SletchWeb
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1203 on: August 10, 2012, 11:37:37 PM »
Natural Spell: Infravision.

Use the stats for See Invisible, but RP it out as being able to see the heat trails of characters rather than just invisible characters. Rest is just fluff that you can tweak to fit the scene.

Cool solution.  I put a little explanation for my players about how it works and a bit of a "don't try abuse it" note (this NPC is a potential Prize, because I ignore the can't be had as a temporary feat section of Personal Lieutenant).  That's the reason I was trying to figure it out - for GM use it doesn't necessarily matter what the stats are, I can just bump it's xp by 5 or so and say "it can see things that give off heat" and call it a day.

Rohas

  • Specialist
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1204 on: August 14, 2012, 12:29:59 AM »
I've got a question for how certain abilities stack.  One of players is paling "Human" with the talent of "Striking".  Striking allows her to Distract up to three opponents.  She also took the "Fan Service" feat, which gives the "Yowza!" trick which causes Standard characters to become fixated on her.  Her interpretation is that the two stack, and that if she distracts three standard characters, they all become fixated on her.
I initially let this interpretation slide, as she built her whole character around this premise (dumping a lot into Cha/impress), but I'm also of the opinion that while the distract would affect all three, only one would become fixated.
What is the Crafty interpretation here?

Mister Andersen

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 12345
  • I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1205 on: August 14, 2012, 04:13:55 AM »
Yes, those things stack, and the trick would apply to all three targets

Sletchman

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4112
  • Gentleman Scholar.
    • View Profile
    • The SletchWeb
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1206 on: August 14, 2012, 04:46:27 AM »
I've got a question for how certain abilities stack.  One of players is paling "Human" with the talent of "Striking".  Striking allows her to Distract up to three opponents.  She also took the "Fan Service" feat, which gives the "Yowza!" trick which causes Standard characters to become fixated on her.  Her interpretation is that the two stack, and that if she distracts three standard characters, they all become fixated on her.
I initially let this interpretation slide, as she built her whole character around this premise (dumping a lot into Cha/impress), but I'm also of the opinion that while the distract would affect all three, only one would become fixated.
What is the Crafty interpretation here?

I'd like to see what Crafty's official response is, but I'd go with "The distract affects all three, but only one is fixated".  It's more inline with other things in the system - Sneak Attack and Critical Hits only work on the first hit of a multi-hit attack, and this seems fairly similar.

Krensky

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 8408
  • WWTWD?
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1207 on: August 14, 2012, 01:27:55 PM »
I'd like to see what Crafty's official response is, but I'd go with "The distract affects all three, but only one is fixated".  It's more inline with other things in the system - Sneak Attack and Critical Hits only work on the first hit of a multi-hit attack, and this seems fairly similar.

As written all three are fixated. Also, each target is rolling separately versus the single Distract roll and the sneak attack and critical hit things are explicitly called out, so it's not necessarily a general rule.
Right now you have no idea how lucky you are that I am not a sociopath. - A sign seen above my desk.
There's no upside in screwing without things you can't explain. - Captain Roy Montgomery
PSN: Krensky_   Steam + GOG: Krensky

Gentry

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 2866
  • It's a Trap!
    • View Profile
    • Wyrmstone Homepage
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1208 on: August 14, 2012, 01:48:58 PM »
I concur that all three are fixated, the same way Beguiling and the Aggro Basics feat can pair to do it with Taunt.
I'm a secret VAO Control (Shh!)

Check out Wyrmstone for FC Open Source campaigning

Have you joined Knife Rights yet?

Live and game in Flyover Country? Join Tornado Alley Game Guil

Takeru

  • Operative
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Mayor Janus of Whitestone
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1209 on: August 16, 2012, 10:20:45 PM »
Question:

does Distracting someone if you have a lower initiative score than them do anything? Would it let you possibly act before they do next round if you roll high enough, or does it just waste the attempt? I'm currently in a PbP forum game where I've got the last init and want to Distract an Assassin from attacking a friend of mine. I'll still do it if it doesn't, since I've got Yowza, but I have no idea how Distract works if you have a later init than them and nobody has a later init than you. Is it an ability that just sometimes doesn't work?
It's flawed and unsupported, but there's a diamond in that rough.

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9879
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1210 on: August 18, 2012, 07:17:56 AM »
Question:

does Distracting someone if you have a lower initiative score than them do anything? Would it let you possibly act before they do next round if you roll high enough, or does it just waste the attempt? I'm currently in a PbP forum game where I've got the last init and want to Distract an Assassin from attacking a friend of mine. I'll still do it if it doesn't, since I've got Yowza, but I have no idea how Distract works if you have a later init than them and nobody has a later init than you. Is it an ability that just sometimes doesn't work?

I don't have my book here but doesn't the Distract effect last until the target's Initiative Count during the following round?
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Bill Whitmore

  • Mastermind
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 2607
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1211 on: August 18, 2012, 01:59:33 PM »
I don't have my book here but doesn't the Distract effect last until the target's Initiative Count during the following round?

Nope, it says: the opponent’s Initiative Count drops by 2d6 for this round only

So, as currently written, you need to have a higher initiative than your opponent for the reduced Initiative Count to matter.
Don't follow your passion.  Take it with you.

ALL HAIL THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER!   Ramen.

Mister Andersen

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 12345
  • I'm leaving for a destination I still don't know
    • View Profile
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1212 on: August 20, 2012, 05:04:07 PM »
When a character is subject to a surprise round once combat has started (say via an opponent using ambush basics), are they automatically rendered flatfooted?

Sletchman

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 4112
  • Gentleman Scholar.
    • View Profile
    • The SletchWeb
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1213 on: August 20, 2012, 05:09:37 PM »
When a character is subject to a surprise round once combat has started (say via an opponent using ambush basics), are they automatically rendered flatfooted?

I can't see why not.  It is a "surprise" round after all.  Ignoring any special abilities, of course.

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9879
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Reply #1214 on: August 25, 2012, 08:48:37 PM »
I don't have my book here but doesn't the Distract effect last until the target's Initiative Count during the following round?

Nope, it says: the opponent’s Initiative Count drops by 2d6 for this round only

So, as currently written, you need to have a higher initiative than your opponent for the reduced Initiative Count to matter.

Ah, I see. We most likely did that to avoid having to track the effect across rounds (generally something you want to avoid with all rules if you can).

Without a fluid initiative system, having a lower Initiative Count is fairly decisive. It's one of the most persistent perks or impediments a character can suffer in combat, and not easily circumvented. In the proposed case, the character with the lower Count is operating at this decisive disadvantage, consistently reacting rather than acting in relation to characters with higher Counts, which eliminates a variety of otherwise useful options, like Distract.

In these cases it's best to have a friend with a higher Count who's willing to act as the distraction, potentially leveling the playing field.
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.