Pat and Alex have said previously that these answers will be answered in detail in upcoming Spellbound releases.
So where does it say that, for further reference? Or was that something that was accidentally left out of the 1st printing and is being added in the 2nd printing?
Actually, the OP's initial questions - determining spells known and how they're gained - are both inferred in the First Printing but unfortunately weren't very clear. We're clearing those up in the Second Printing and the errata, and that text will be expanded in Spellbound. So you're getting the answers immediately and more detail later.
This was hashed out in the long Q&A thread somewhere. In general, always use current values for formulas like number of spells known. So when your wisdom or spellcasting ranks increase, you gain new spells known. Likewise, increasing your lifestyle may increase your appearance bonus. Whether or not temporary bonuses affect derived stats is largely left to the Game Control's discretion. I don't think I'd let temporary wisdom gain new spells (at least under normal circumstances) but temporary lifestyle would affect appearance.
Attribute modifiers are covered in the Impairment section on page 9 (yes, the title may lead you to believe these rules only apply to penalties but as you can see from the body text, it refers to both bonuses and
penalties). Basically, permanent changes affect all derived stats immediately while temporary changes affect only a handful of specific stats.
Other stat modifiers can and should easily be determined with the same gauge, though we do leave many of those unique situations up to the GM.
There are a lot of places where details are left up to the GC's decisions. Some of these (as mentioned above) are being clarified in the errata. So hopefully when you read the second printing you'll find more advice about reasonable options.
Generally, we leave cases open to GM interpretation when we perceive that there are at least two strong and logical ways to rule that don't upset other parts of the system.
Pat, will the Prepared caster variant/quality show up in Spellbound?
The Vancian magic
quality? Yes, among other variant spellcasting systems and options.
Just be wary when you look at it because Chapter 3 still shows as Chapter 2: Lore on the upper right corner of the right side of the pages. If you are amidst Spells and it reads Lore up there instead of Grimoire, then you are actually in Chapter 3.
Also fixed in the Second Printing.