Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 24, 2014, 06:22:21 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

+  Crafty Games Forum
|-+  Community
| |-+  License to Improvise
| | |-+  My Weapons Guide and other tweaks
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: My Weapons Guide and other tweaks  (Read 588 times)
MalikCarr
Crafty n00b

View Profile
« on: June 23, 2010, 03:36:34 PM »

Hello all! I actually didn't know until just now that there was still much of a following for Spycraft and that pleases me greatly - my colleagues and I have been playing it on and off for a few years and I still think it's one of the best d20-based systems for RPGs as a whole, even if it is a bit complicated.

Anyway, on seeing a fair number of threads for the upcoming edition of Spycraft that are actually complaining about how many guns there are in 2.0, I find myself feeling a bit silly because I actually felt there weren't enough in the book to begin with. Then again, I'm also a gun nut and general scholar of firearms, so I guess that was a logical conclusion.

Moving right along.

Last year I actually wrote up a bunch of new guns for Spycraft, using my trusty library of fine gun references (Small Arms of the 20th Century by Ian V. Hogg and Assault Rifle by Max Popenker helped out quite a bit) as a starting point. Eventually this evolved into a not-insignificant project for my gaming group, and we ended up effectively using this giant three ring binder of tables and textual descriptions of a massive number of weapons in place of the Firearms listed in the 2.0 rulebook, rather than as a supplement to it.

My colleagues started referring to it as the "bible" and I took a great amount of amusement at that, heh.