Author Topic: Can't Copy!  (Read 2234 times)

Black Cheese

  • Agent
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Can't Copy!
« on: November 20, 2008, 04:43:24 PM »
This might really be just me, but I can't copy text around here anymore. I get the circle-and-bar for my cursor whenever I attempt a cut and paste on a forum post. I can copy-and-paste from the home page just fine, but not at all in the forums.

If this is a feature to preserve the poster's integrity, fine. But it makes quoting without using the little quote button (which is my preferred way of doing it) a PITA.

Anyone else encounter the same?

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9770
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Can't Copy!
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2008, 06:21:44 PM »
You're using Internet Explorer, yes? It appears to be interacting poorly with the forum software (which we recently upgraded to quell the spambot uprising of last week).

Alex is working on the problem. I'll let him update you further.
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Crafty_Alex

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 3491
  • Damned if I do, damned if I don't.
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Copy!
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2008, 07:59:11 PM »
This is not a feature we're going to be able to fix anytime soon, for as I understand it this is a result of the antispam measures we have been forced to take. I'm an IE user myself, but now I just use shift-select with my arrow keys to extract text. Note you can copy paste as normal in replies, as well. So it might be time to use that little quote button :)

According to others, Firefox isn't having this problem, if it's really getting to you (I'm not switching myself, but that's just plain ol' obstinence).
"Alex doesn't feel anything. He's more word processor than man anymore." - Krensky

"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication" - Leonardo da Vinci

A reminder.

Alex Flagg
Crafty Games

Number Three

  • Handler
  • *****
  • Posts: 811
  • I have become Deathbus, destoyer of threads.
    • View Profile
    • Hobbymasters
Re: Can't Copy!
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2008, 08:16:39 PM »
Opera 9.62 here, and the only change I've seen is that the forum is now bordered in "default grey".

Crafty_Pat

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 9770
  • We have all the time in the world.
    • View Profile
    • Crafty Games
Re: Can't Copy!
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2008, 11:42:06 AM »
I use the latest iteration of Firefox (I find IE, um, "lacking" - yeah, that's the political answer), and I still have full forum functionality.
Patrick Kapera
Crafty Games

UPDATES/PRESS INFO
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/14FJIw7
Facebook: www.facebook.com/craftygames
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+Crafty-Games/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Crafty_Games
YouTube: www.youtube.com/craftyhomeoffice

In game terms, reality is broken.

Crafty_Alex

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 3491
  • Damned if I do, damned if I don't.
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Copy!
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2008, 04:45:55 PM »
This issue has been resolved, IE users. I found a stray tag sitting outside part of our table structure which was throwing everything off. I can now copy/paste from text fields again, and double clicking in a field with a cursor will not link you to the front page :) w00t!
"Alex doesn't feel anything. He's more word processor than man anymore." - Krensky

"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication" - Leonardo da Vinci

A reminder.

Alex Flagg
Crafty Games

Bill Whitmore

  • Mastermind
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 2526
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Copy!
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2008, 04:51:13 PM »
This issue has been resolved, IE users. I found a stray tag sitting outside part of our table structure which was throwing everything off. I can now copy/paste from text fields again, and double clicking in a field with a cursor will not link you to the front page :) w00t!

Awesome, it works for me again! ;D

When did the ::) start working?

Not sure, but I am happy to see it, too.
Don't follow your passion.  Take it with you.

ALL HAIL THE FLYING SPAGHETTI MONSTER!   Ramen.

Crafty_Alex

  • Crafty Staff
  • Control
  • *****
  • Posts: 3491
  • Damned if I do, damned if I don't.
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Copy!
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2008, 07:56:42 PM »
Oh yeah, Mr. Rolly-Eyes got fixed in the great forum upgrade of 08.
"Alex doesn't feel anything. He's more word processor than man anymore." - Krensky

"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication" - Leonardo da Vinci

A reminder.

Alex Flagg
Crafty Games

TheAuldGrump

  • Control
  • ******
  • Posts: 3380
  • Because The Cat Told Me To...
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Copy!
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2008, 08:22:51 PM »
Oh yeah, Mr. Rolly-Eyes got fixed in the great forum upgrade of 08.
Oh.
Great. ::)

(Actually, it is great, but I needed some sarcasm to test it out on.... :P )

The Auld Grump
I don't know how the story ends...
But I do know what happens next.