No, you're absolutely right. I should have been more specific. Actually, the player is also using this horrible Fixer power : let's deal.
After a common discussion, we decided that spending 2 action dice should be enough to consider that the 15 to the DC is added after
the use of this power (which otherwise would give automatic victory to the character). The question is, when he decides to use let's deal and
suit together, and I use 2 actions dice to "counter" it, are the two powers expanded or not?
For few more details, my agents are currently in mission in Mitrovica, a highly unstable city north of Kosovo, close from the new and not-recognized-yet border with Serbia. They are dealing with an underground nationalist organization called Ibarhvac, whose supposed boss (or high-ranking member) recently killed two other agents of the agency (Pitfall actually) and severely wounded one. The team of five is on his tracks. Three of them are currently breaking into his mansion to search for evidences, while the two others were trying to create a diversion by forcing him to play at Mitrovica's only casino, the Royal Palace Hotel.
Except that Lazarevic, thanks to two successful Sense motive checks, saw through their deception (because of a little detail) and captured the two agents. One of them - a woman - has tried to bribe one of Lazarevic's two bodyguards but failed, because he is totally lawful to his boss (and because of my 2 action dice, ouch), and now she's trying again with the second one ! The thing is, she doesn't have cash anymore, and the player wanted to use the suit power for the first guard already. When I decided to "immune" the guy, he decided not to use suit after all.
The roleplaying is nice, the player is absolutely not trying to abuse of his power (he suggested that both guards are immune after I spent the two dice), but I still would like to know how this is covered by the rules. I think the answer should be somewhere on the roplaying part. How would you play the suit ability? Is it something you must mention when you talk to the guy you're trying to bribe (like "I don't have money, but I'm working for Pitfall and they have a lot of assets"), so that is expanded whether it succeeds or not, or is it something that takes place afterwards (like a phone call to the agency for immediate refunding), so that it's not expanded 'till it has effectively been used ?