Recent Posts

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
91
Fantasy Craft / Special npcs and vitality at higher levels
« Last post by TheVastator on April 11, 2017, 02:57:41 AM »
Hey guys, just a quick thought.
While the special adversarial npcs seems to be fine with high amounts of vitality (afterall, they must not end up dead too soon :P), when you use the same rules for allied special npcs (personal lieautenants or for example "temporary" npcs as pcs), the amount of vitality is way too high...
I'm creating a faerie dragon for a friend so he can play one session with us, and even at Health III he'd have 180 vitality at TL 12! That's almost on par with the party's soldier...
Suggestions about how to handle this?
92
Off-Topic / Re: XCOM (Reactions, stories, let's play setups, etc...)
« Last post by RusVal on April 10, 2017, 07:35:12 PM »
Ha, looked at my Steam time records:

XCOM: Enemy Unknown - 333 hours
XCOM 2 - 444 hours

I swear I didn't do that on purpose.
93
Off-Topic / Re: Little Painted People: Miniatures News
« Last post by Illithar on April 10, 2017, 05:59:25 PM »
I had looked into Infinity some time ago, looks like at least a rules revision or two ago at least. The mini's looked neat, never got into the game though. I've heard their mini's can be a pain to assemble.

I used to paint Warmahordes, but I fell away from them due to 1) no one to play with, 2) cost per mini, and 3) assembly. I still have them in boxes somewhere.

Now, I don't so much mind assembling my mini's, but when I had to assemble an entire unit of troops were each are, sword, and shoulder pad are separate bloody pieces I started to get a bit frustrated... Really though, the one that takes the cake for me was a limited edition con mini my sister picked up for me. One of it's feet is a separate piece!

Lately I've been collecting and painting Reaper mini's, along with a few here and there that I have acquired through Kickstarters.
94
Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions
« Last post by Big_Jim on April 10, 2017, 02:09:25 PM »
Having an Alignment designates a certain type as a ritual weapon for you, but that doesn't give you the weapon itself for free or give you any particular benefits with it unless you have another ability that does so. For instance, anyone with an Alignment can take the Ritual Weapon BMS feats (from Call to Arms: Crusader), but only Priests and Crusaders get a ritual weapon for free.

I'm not sure Ritual Weapon BMS actually works that way. The Prereq might not be clear on whether you actually need a ritual weapon, or just need to have a forte in your alignment's ritual weapon, but the text clearly seems to assume you already have a ritual weapon and merely gain a second one.

Ritual Weapon B/M/S doesn't actually give you a second ritual weapon, it makes the your alignment specifically grant you a different ritual weapon - as in you now have a choice of weapons for your ritual weapon. But, the only way to get a ritual weapon for your alignment is still via the Priest's Acolyte and the Crusader's Called to Arms I class abilities.

You can take the Ritual Weapon B/M/S chain without a ritual weapon (because you don't have either of the above class abilities), but it doesn't do anything without an actual ritual weapon.  Just because your Alignment's ritual weapon is a Broadsword (and you added Longsword with basics) doesn't mean that all your Broadsword and Longsword attacks are now aligned when you go into the Stalwart in Faith stance. You still need an actual ritual weapon granted by either of the above mentioned class abilities.

However, you could argue that having both the Priest's Acolyte or the Crusader's Called to Arms I class abilities grants you two ritual weapons - and then Ritual Weapon Basics allows those two weapons be any combination of the two weapons that you consider ritual weapons. That'd be pretty awesome.
95
Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions
« Last post by T_Stalker on April 10, 2017, 01:34:29 PM »
Having an Alignment designates a certain type as a ritual weapon for you, but that doesn't give you the weapon itself for free or give you any particular benefits with it unless you have another ability that does so. For instance, anyone with an Alignment can take the Ritual Weapon BMS feats (from Call to Arms: Crusader), but only Priests and Crusaders get a ritual weapon for free.

I'm not sure Ritual Weapon BMS actually works that way. The Prereq might not be clear on wheither you actually need a ritual weapon, or just need to have a forte in your alignment's ritual weapon, but the text clearly seems to assume you already have a ritual weapon and merely gain a second one.

I'm just glad my DM is being lenient on it.
96
Fantasy Craft / Re: New Character Sheet (WIP)
« Last post by Nuaurpy on April 10, 2017, 11:47:20 AM »
So actually sitting down with the character sheet, I think you could take about half of the lines out of the path steps. Having 10 lines forces your to write small, but then if you're writing small you don't need 10 lines, a friend of mine made it form-fillable and with 10 lines I never used more than 5 regardless of what path I was testing.
Is that with writing out details of spells (range, area, casting time, etc)? That's mainly what I was trying to accommodate by having so many lines.

I wasn't writing out spells, I used the spell sheet for that. I feel like if you were creating space for spells you may want to trim a few lines (say 4 lines from each) to create room at the bottom to just include a place to write in spell information using the same format from the spell caster page. It'll mean that you have lots of room to write out path abilities in the path space, but then aren't trying to scrawl everything that a spell does in the remaining space because you instead have a nice spot to put that information.

Here's the fillable version that he made of your sheet with a couple minor modifications: http://www.mediafire.com/file/ptq8xeqbq39eveq/FC_Fillable_Sheet.pdf
97
Fantasy Craft / Re: New Character Sheet (WIP)
« Last post by TKDB on April 10, 2017, 09:48:18 AM »
So actually sitting down with the character sheet, I think you could take about half of the lines out of the path steps. Having 10 lines forces your to write small, but then if you're writing small you don't need 10 lines, a friend of mine made it form-fillable and with 10 lines I never used more than 5 regardless of what path I was testing.
Is that with writing out details of spells (range, area, casting time, etc)? That's mainly what I was trying to accommodate by having so many lines.
99
Fantasy Craft / Re: New Character Sheet (WIP)
« Last post by Nuaurpy on April 09, 2017, 05:15:34 PM »
So actually sitting down with the character sheet, I think you could take about half of the lines out of the path steps. Having 10 lines forces your to write small, but then if you're writing small you don't need 10 lines, a friend of mine made it form-fillable and with 10 lines I never used more than 5 regardless of what path I was testing.
100
Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions
« Last post by Big_Jim on April 09, 2017, 03:58:44 PM »
So I'm playing a crusader with the battle chant of vigor, granting me a subdual resistance of 5. It is described as "Your conversation with your god(s) continues through the heat of battle. Often, they respond." so I assume it means that my god blesses me with divine vigor to power through exhausting tasks. Now the issue is cold or heat damage that gets converted into subdual damage. I haven't been able to find any rules for converting damage coupled with resistances but it seems like it would be a bit overpowered if I were to use warm armor to first resist the cold damage but then also use the chant to reduce the converted subdual damage. I discussed it with my DM and he agreed that the converted damage shouldn't be reduced but are there any official rules stating how you would handle a situation like this?

Damage is only one type at a time, and DR and Resistances are applied when the damage is inflicted. Then the resulting damage is applied to the character. Cold and heat damage  become subdual damage when it is at the applying portion of the process. You don't get to double dip DR/Resistances.

TL/DR: the damage becomes subdual after you've done the Resistance part, so the chant doesn't help in this case..
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]