Recent Posts

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 10
21
Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions
« Last post by Slashes-With-Claws on November 22, 2017, 11:28:07 AM »
I just realized I may have been ruling this wrong. Does Sneak Attack Damage become the type of damage that it's dealing? That seems to make sense for things like subdual damage because dealing 15 subdual damage and 15 lethal sneak attack damage seems like it wouldn't make a lot of sense and would be a really bad idea for taking someone alive. But for something like fire damage if I deal 15 fire damage and 15 sneak attack damage do they then make a save, DC 30 or catch fire for 30 damage?

Sneak Attack does not work with Fire.  The errata says the following: "Sneak attack damage may only be used to augment lethal, subdual, and stress damage."
22
Mistborn Adventure Game / Re: popularity of MAG
« Last post by Aiken Frost on November 22, 2017, 11:18:48 AM »
Some people don't even know about the game, even more here in Brazil where I live.

I'm from Brazil as well and my RPG group (about ~5 people) used to play MAG from time to time. We don't play anything at all anymore...  :'(
23
License to Improvise / Re: Spheres of Power: FC conversion [thanks to Deral]
« Last post by SilvercatMoonpaw on November 22, 2017, 09:54:01 AM »
Done.
24
Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions
« Last post by Big_Jim on November 22, 2017, 09:13:50 AM »
Sneak attack is also only usable with the 3 basic damage types - lethal, stress, and subdual. It is not applied to any other damage type.
25
Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions
« Last post by Takeru on November 22, 2017, 07:25:07 AM »
The Bard Specialty with the Sage Class is a great combo and does not necessarily require the Drake Species. An Educated Human Talent works wonders too.

Maybe, but that does of course mean that this character would no longer be a Drake.

And what possible reason would I have to make that decision?
Drakes are kind of overblown and don't have much in the way of fancy clothing and have trouble fitting into the places most humans socialize?
26
Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions
« Last post by paddyfool on November 22, 2017, 07:08:21 AM »

Opposable thumbs. .. cannot really hold something to drink without them

Yet another reason why a drake benefits from having a personal lieutenant. If gods and kings can have cupbearers, it seems fitting for dragons to have them too.
27
Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions
« Last post by Desertpuma on November 22, 2017, 06:22:08 AM »
The Bard Specialty with the Sage Class is a great combo and does not necessarily require the Drake Species. An Educated Human Talent works wonders too.

Maybe, but that does of course mean that this character would no longer be a Drake.

And what possible reason would I have to make that decision?

Opposable thumbs. .. cannot really hold something to drink without them
28
License to Improvise / Re: New Feats!
« Last post by paddyfool on November 22, 2017, 05:28:44 AM »
Yeah, I don't think Armchair Expert is broken. Here's how you can use it:
- With spellcasting feats to boost dc: spellcaating gets more help from actual spellcaating feats
- With chance feats to power fortunate: Chance monkeys get more help from actual chance feats
- With style feats to power a PL: Just as well done with actual style feats (and/or basic combat feats if captain
- With terrain feats to power an animal companion: Just as well done with actual terrain feats
- With species feats to power a Drake's breath weapon: Better done with actual species feats

And one thing to note with all of the above is that skill feats just aren't that powerful by themselves and that there's nothing else that the number you have of them powers.
29
Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions
« Last post by Bill Whitmore on November 22, 2017, 03:16:14 AM »
I just realized I may have been ruling this wrong. Does Sneak Attack Damage become the type of damage that it's dealing? That seems to make sense for things like subdual damage because dealing 15 subdual damage and 15 lethal sneak attack damage seems like it wouldn't make a lot of sense and would be a really bad idea for taking someone alive. But for something like fire damage if I deal 15 fire damage and 15 sneak attack damage do they then make a save, DC 30 or catch fire for 30 damage?

Page 209: Each attack or injury may inflict only one type of damage. When more than one damage type applies to an attack (e.g. a flaming sword, which can inflict for either lethal or fre damage), the attacker decides which to apply. Sneak attack damage is the one exception to this rule, as itís a special damage type that augments another.

Page 211: When a character possesses 1 or more dice of sneak attack damage, he may use them to augment the damage of any Standard Attack or Coup de Grace made against a flatfooted, flanked, or helpless target.

So Sneak Attack damage is itself not typed. it increases the damage of the base attack. By the rules as written, you can add sneak attack damage to increase the amount of fire damage caused by the flaming sword in the example above.
30
License to Improvise / Re: Spheres of Power: FC conversion [thanks to Deral]
« Last post by TheVastator on November 22, 2017, 02:39:45 AM »
Thanks, Silver can you place this in the first post as well please?
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 10