Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
1
Fantasy Craft / Getting the effect you want on your players
« Last post by The_Grand_User on July 29, 2016, 10:43:58 PM »
So running Sunchasers I really want to make a fuller play report for our group, but I think I'll share one moment that went perfectly, and open it up to hear other people's stories as well.

The past two session have been with my players enjoying the Rolling Circus as Morgenstern described here. Definitely having some much needed light hearted fun with the events, games, and the sparring matches. There was a small earthquake at some point, but no damage, so people carried on. One sparring match between a couple of the PCs, and then one more between two of the PCs and a PL vs. a few of the local boastful Strapping Young Men. Then near the end of the fight with victory all but ensured, the leader of the party (also mayor of the town) got this message "Earthquake, they're breeching the Moonpool early. A large construction over the pool. Army not ready."

Totally changed the atmosphere of the session, just as I wanted ;D a big "Oh #$@#" and then moving into full prep "Calm and orderly panic" mode, and the players enjoying it the whole time ;)

There was another such moment in the climax of the last big adventure... but I think I really ought to take some time to properly set that one up.

So go ahead and share your own tales :)
2
Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Last post by TheVastator on July 29, 2016, 07:03:35 AM »
Fortunate and action dice explosion:
can Fortunate (and other related chance feats) be applied to the dice resulting from the explosion of the spent action die?
Or should they be applied only on the actually spent action dice?

I do not see the question there, Fortunate just gives you some extra d4 dice.

If you mean Fortune Favors the Bold, which adds +2 to the AD result, then that is to the total result.  So if you roll a d8 AD and get a roll of 8, an explosion, then get a 3, the total would be 13 (8 + 3 + 2).  At least, that is how the group I am in interprets it.

For Lady Luck's Smile (Explosions on highest and second highest result) we treat it as applying to all the dice in an explosion chain.  Though, you should take a GM step when someone that has an ability that also lets AD explode on a 1 and disallow d4 dice from exploding on 1, 3, and 4 (Let the player pick is how we roll, but they have to stick with that forever).

Yeah, my bad, I'm very tired and wrote the wrong name.
It makes sense for Fortune favors the Bold, but I'm not too sure about Lady Luck's Smile... since they both say "when you roll an action die". Technically the explosions are the same die (correct me if I'm wrong)
3
Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Last post by SilvercatMoonpaw on July 29, 2016, 06:43:44 AM »
Or the quest could be to acquire the items needed to cast the Wish spell

That's already been clearly established as the default assumption of the rules: When something bad happens it's the caster being all "Universe, here's something I prepared earlier, let's just ignore the last minute or so".

By putting the quest after the granting of the wish, it becomes the Universe saying "You need a favour? Done. Now let's talk about what it's going to cost you to keep it it that way" which is far more narratively interesting.
Yeah, there's something a little boring about the idea that wishes are based on sacrificing some unimportant one-time token vs getting a favor from some power that's going to be looking over your shoulder for at least the time your quest takes.

Now if the "token" became "important or emotionally significant item the character is reluctant to give up" then it becomes more interesting.  >:D
4
Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Last post by Slashes-With-Claws on July 29, 2016, 06:27:36 AM »
Fortunate and action dice explosion:
can Fortunate (and other related chance feats) be applied to the dice resulting from the explosion of the spent action die?
Or should they be applied only on the actually spent action dice?

I do not see the question there, Fortunate just gives you some extra d4 dice.

If you mean Fortune Favors the Bold, which adds +2 to the AD result, then that is to the total result.  So if you roll a d8 AD and get a roll of 8, an explosion, then get a 3, the total would be 13 (8 + 3 + 2).  At least, that is how the group I am in interprets it.

For Lady Luck's Smile (Explosions on highest and second highest result) we treat it as applying to all the dice in an explosion chain.  Though, you should take a GM step when someone that has an ability that also lets AD explode on a 1 and disallow d4 dice from exploding on 1, 3, and 4 (Let the player pick is how we roll, but they have to stick with that forever).
5
Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Last post by TheVastator on July 29, 2016, 05:45:26 AM »
Fortunate and action dice explosion:
can Fortunate (and other related chance feats) be applied to the dice resulting from the explosion of the spent action die?
Or should they be applied only on the actually spent action dice?
6
Off-Topic / Re: XCOM (Reactions, stories, let's play setups, etc...)
« Last post by RusVal on July 28, 2016, 10:56:30 PM »
Maaaaan I've missed the old Titan armors something fierce.

Spoiler: show








They obviously weren't meant for the current body proportions of 2's soldiers, so they can clip something fierce, particularly around the chest (gun stock), arm/shoulder area, and the back of the neck (the reason some have helmets is due to a number of hair options needing to be "tied down").  This clipping gets worse with the original DLC decos, due to them literally being layered on top of the old armors.   That said, 2's helmets actually look quite good combined with the old look.  The full helmet (Powered 4) with the 0 Deco almost gives that StarCraft feel, even.
7
Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Last post by Krensky on July 28, 2016, 09:19:16 PM »
Yes. God damn tablet outocrrect/keyboard.
8
Fantasy Craft / Re: The Dragon
« Last post by Kadrok on July 28, 2016, 09:13:56 PM »
So anyway... Dragons, hey? Yep. Dragons. Kadrok is not at all creating a massive tangent.
9
Fantasy Craft / Re: The Dragon
« Last post by Big_Jim on July 28, 2016, 08:44:19 PM »
I've played with and without fast feats. We agreed that Fast Feats was stupid broken. YMMV, of course.
10
Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread
« Last post by Big_Jim on July 28, 2016, 08:42:47 PM »
Remember that priests can cast Wish with the subplot, and it's open to GM interpretation  (unless I'm forgetting something errata or faq) whether or not NPC need to complete a subplot to cast wishes.

Emphasis mine. You meant without, right? Because ability test says:

Divine Intervention: You may call upon your gods for direct assistance. At Level 14, once per adventure, you may cast
the Wish II spell without making a Spellcasting check, spending spell points or completing the Quest Subplot (see page 151).

Emphasis mine again.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10