Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 23, 2014, 05:35:42 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

  Show Posts
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
1  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions on: May 17, 2014, 02:07:21 PM
@Shadelon, Sorry I know of none in landscape.

@Crafty_Pat, thanks appreciate the answer

I'm curious if anyone knows of a nice long list that could be used to create Studies for NPCs.  Sometimes, my imagination for coming up with stuff just starts to run dry…   Tongue

Also, another noob question for anyone: Never Outnumbered references the benefit on pg. 85, but I can't seem to find it?  What does Never Outnumbered do?  Guessing that flanking and the Horde B/M/S chain are nullified?

On page 85 under 'Benefit' there is: "When a feat ability requires a numerical advantage (e.g. “2-to-1”), you may only use it if together you, your teammates, and your allies physically outnumber your opponents by at least the listed ratio." So, Never Outnumbered negates the benefits keyed off of that, such as the Bushwhack and Horde feat chains.
2  Community / Off-Topic / Re: Do your game characters tend to be your gender or opposite gender? on: April 26, 2014, 02:52:13 PM
When playing tabletop I play my gender (male), almost exclusively. There have been a couple exceptions, such as when we where supplied with pre-generated characters for a one shot.

Playing video games I will almost always make male characters if I am given a choice. But, I don't really have an issue with playing a female character.
3  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: March 21, 2014, 08:50:22 PM
Inserting 'standard move' in lieu of 'movement action' would indeed allow you to Handle an Item and take your 5' step in the same round. It would also mean you could take that step when you:

  • Mount/Dismount
  • Reposition
  • Run
  • engage in Total Defence

Woops... forgot about that Run Tongue. I don't see it being much of an issue with regards to the other 3 though, so I think I would go with Slashes-With-Claws suggestion of 'Standard Move or Run'.
4  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: March 21, 2014, 04:47:51 PM
I think it would be easier to just replace "Movement Action" with "Standard Move" in the section that talks about the "Bonus 5-ft. Step". That's basically how it works in The Other Game.

5  Community / Off-Topic / Re: Video game news and reaction on: March 05, 2014, 12:48:41 AM
The voice at the very beginning is supposed to be Scarecrow I think. Then it transitions into Thomas Wayne's voice for the will reading.

Apparently this is to be the last Arkham game, at least as far as Rocksteady's involvement.
6  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Too MANY skill points? Wait a minute... on: January 23, 2014, 12:56:55 AM
One thing to keep in mind as well is that Intelligence isn't really THAT important for mages in FC. The only thing it does for the class specifically is add to their spellcasting checks. You need Wisdom for more spells known and Charisma for spell save DC's though. The later might be as important if you are not focusing on attack/debuff spells.

Not sure if that helps but it is something to keep in mind coming from the other game.
7  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: December 22, 2013, 03:36:08 AM
I know this has been covered somewhere, but I can't seem to find it.

When a spell says it's area is a sphere, such as Fireball I with a 20ft Sphere area, is that radius? Or Diameter? So everything within of the spot, or 20 feet wide total?

Under the 'Area' section on page 113 it says: 'The size is always in feet and represents volume, distance, or radius as noted in the spell description.'

So, it would be a 20 ft. radius, even though it isn't specified in the spell, because diameter isn't even an option. Fireball I woud be a 20 ft. radius sphere centered on the target square or creature.
8  Community / Off-Topic / Re: Covert Ops RPG on: December 13, 2013, 12:15:37 AM
I can't speak for Covert Ops but I do have a copy of it's fantasy counterpart: Barebones Fantasy RPG. From what I can see on the store page and the preview it looks like they use the same system. For one there are no traditional classes instead you have skills that represent those classes, such as Warrior, Spellcaster or Scholar (Fantasy examples). It's also a d% system. It looks like they have added some stuff, like the martial arts maneuvers and a luck point style mechanic.

I'll have to pick up a copy at some point.
9  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: December 09, 2013, 11:06:37 PM
So... any idea about my question?  How is crew for boats with the crew quality handled?

From reading of the Crew quality it is simply the minimum number of people to operate the vehicle. You'll need to supply/hire your own crew.
10  Community / Off-Topic / Re: [Books] Etiquette & Espionage on: December 08, 2013, 11:51:11 PM
Got my copy finally and finished reading it the other night, I really liked this one. The introduction of characters from the previous series was entertaining. I was actually a little giddy when a particular vampire made an appearance.

I impatiently wait for the next book 'Waistcoats and Weaponry'. I guess the first book in her other series is set for an late 2015 release, so the Finishing School series will probably be finished first before we see it.

I'll toss this in a spoiler just in case:
(click to show/hide)
11  Community / Off-Topic / Re: XCOM (Reactions, stories, let's play setups, etc...) on: November 22, 2013, 07:26:01 PM
Is THAT hacking the comms does? Thought it delayed or reduced the waves of reinforcements they got...
12  Community / Off-Topic / Re: XCOM (Reactions, stories, let's play setups, etc...) on: November 22, 2013, 12:07:08 PM
Wrapped up an Exalt mission last night, it was pretty chill.  I like they way they work in teams and don't act like the aliens.  (I still smoked 'em like a drug store blunt.)

The only issue I have with the Exalt is that they rarely seem to take cover compared to the aliens. Especially in missions were you are put on the defensive, I noticed they would stand out in the open a lot. That and they would reload before shooting at any of my troops so I would often get a turn or two gunning them down before they returned fire.
13  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions on: November 10, 2013, 05:21:33 PM
Those are not bonuses, typed or otherwise. They are increases to threat range.

Hmmm... I guess so. That's what I get for posting after midnight apparently Tongue.

Still, I think I will go with Krensky on this one and just say 'No'.
14  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions on: November 10, 2013, 02:28:35 AM
Ah, ok, I was missing something
But, as others have said all those items are a pretty big investment in Reputation and Renown.


EDIT 3: WAIT, waitwaitwait....just wait, hang on now. These bonuses DO have a type. According to Skill Check Modifiers on page 63:

• Magic: Spells and magic items impose these modifiers.

Thus, having multiple items with this essence on them will not stack, as they are the same type of bonus.

EDIT: 240 Reputation by my count. 8 Greater Threat range Essences (160), assuming you take Packrat you will need total Renown of 4 for your prize limit, so 80 assuming you have one of the discounts. This is also assuming you have Essence Supremacy so you can make a 3 essence item.

EDIT 2: Woops, I am wrong on the artifact part, you can only have the same essence on an artifact multiple times if   they are different 'versions'. So thats two more renown needed, bringing the total Reputation to 280 (assuming discounts).
15  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions on: November 10, 2013, 12:14:21 AM
Wait... how does having auto-threats give you auto-crits? You should still need action dice to confirm all of these spellcasting checks, regardless of threat range. You also still need to meet the spellcasting DC regardless of threat range.

Unless I am missing something...
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!