Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 30, 2015, 08:57:30 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

  Show Posts
Pages: 1 ... 526 527 [528] 529 530 ... 762
7906  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: So.. let me see your take on this scenario.. (Even comes with a disclaimer!) on: September 26, 2009, 11:45:00 PM
They have a dragon. All they need to do is send someone in to rent out the mayor's daughter, then get her to the roof of the brothel for a high-speed aerial extraction
7907  Community / License to Improvise / Re: TL;DR on: September 26, 2009, 11:24:09 PM
Each penalty individually serve to give some useful flavour to a species. Both penalties together constitute some fairly brutal railroading, the system essentially rewarding conceptual inflexibility. There's a very good reason I think why most species only have one of the Iconic penalties.

This is always taken the wrong way, and I'm not sure how to make it more apparent. Having both iconic does't reward conceptual inflexibility, it gives you an edge because opponents can very reasonably anticipate your abilities. The restriction is barely a penalty at all in terms of mechanical value - if you were planning to play that combination anyway, you get a bonus, but what did you lose? The answer is you lose the element of surprise.

That doesn't make sense, though. Were this, say, Warhammer or Bloodbowl where you'd reasonably expect to rock up to a game against a stranger or opponents regularly rotating forces that you have to initially assume will be working along the lines of characteristic tropes.

But on a meta level the GM -- if they're good -- already knows the abilities and weaknesses of the characters and is going to be tailoring scenarios with that knowledge in mind.  You as a player of a high elf are never going to gain an element of surprise against the enemy by being a gladiator soldier specialising in close quarters combat instead of an archer scout.

Like I said, I recognise the need, both on a narrative and mechanical level for origin drawbacks. And even though I've used both for builds in the past that's been out of necessity alone. I just don't think the iconic ones synch together in a manner that's fun to play.
7908  Community / License to Improvise / TL;DR on: September 26, 2009, 10:04:54 AM
Either penalty on its own is something that as a player I can live with -- my preference is for iconic specialties as I'd rather be a feat down on the rest of the team because clever / interesting / cunning builds can easily balance out the initial 1-off mechanical loss incured for atypical thinking.

Copping the AD penalty is less favourable because it's got a far greater knock on effect as punishment for playing outside of the box -- core abilities may be passed up to avoid the penalty or rendered immediately less effective, while feat and class benefits can be drastically curtailed in order to achieve a particular class build further down the track, something which low level play can make (or at least seem to make) quite onerous. Yes the various sub-species feats do offer the capacity for relief but the necessity for them can render certain career paths problematic

Each penalty individually serve to give some useful flavour to a species. Both penalties together constitute some fairly brutal railroading, the system essentially rewarding conceptual inflexibility. There's a very good reason I think why most species only have one of the Iconic penalties.
7909  Community / Wiki Development / Re: Spam on the Wiki on: September 26, 2009, 05:26:54 AM
You should throw in Achiles Heel (Flash)
7910  Community / License to Improvise / Re: Light of Olympus to Fantasy Craft on: September 26, 2009, 05:22:15 AM
The size is wrong -- Centaurs are 1 x 2.

I'd also lower both attacks to Grade I -- in Fantasy craft, the fact the centuaur is large means you're going up a die size, and it means you're not crippling the species with both Iconic penalties
7911  Community / Play-by-Post / Re: Runelords on: September 26, 2009, 03:17:05 AM
First Action: Drop item + Move
Second Action: Attack --> 1d20+2+4 (helpless target=24. Damage --> 1d4+2=6

Eh. It seemed simpler than wasting another turn on a coup de grace.


It's always funny until someone gets hurt.

There's still something grimly amusing about the way the goblin is laughing -- a nervous tittering sort of laugh -- as it watches what used to be a member of its own kind twitch and shudder and tear itself apart, right up until the moment the plunges through its own heart. It collapses next to its catatonic companion,  leaving the overwhelming impression that it just hadn't gotten the joke.

Dropping the fouled halberd, Divia jumps off the table and draws close to the two slumped forms as the battle around her draws to its inevitable conclusion. All sign of the manic, almost evil, glee she'd shown moments before is gone. There's something that might almost be compassion in her eyes as she brings the heel of her boot down sharply on the neck of the catatonic goblin, shattering its spine with ruthless efficiency.
7912  Community / Off-Topic / Re: Star Trek: Roleplay Toys! on: September 25, 2009, 09:43:40 PM
There's some nice stuff there, but this really bugged me:

Quote from: Bridge playset
...Additional bridge pieces will come with Galaxy Series figures* to build out the complete bridge playset. Collect them all to build it all.  *Some international territiories may not include additional pieces with the Galaxy Series figures.

That's some pretty big Fail right there.

I also think I'll call that they'll make less of the Uhura figures than any of the others and that the SylarSpock ones will be the first to go
7913  Community / Play-by-Post / Re: Wanna play a game? on: September 25, 2009, 09:31:08 PM
I am rapidly coming to the conclusion that conversion of the adversaries in the printed AP will not do at all if I want to challenge the party. Simon's bleeding problem was more fluke then expected outcome, and other then that you've been walking all over the little freaks. Sad

Well, they *are* goblins with a CR of 1/3, so personally I have no problem with them essentially being mooks we can one-shot in order to get the adventure rolling at 1st level.

However, looking at the conversion rules, they should have a base health of III (d8 hit die) + I or tough (no. hit dice > CR) - I (size). So they should be Health III or Health II / tough I, and you've just got them at Health II. Plus, throw in swarm as a cheap & flavourful addition (they're cowards, so of course they'll mob rather than go mano e mano) and balance it with meek (they'll also run):

Goblin (Small Folk Walker - 34 XP): Str 10, Dex 10, Con 10, Int 10, Wis 09, Cha 06; SZ S (1x1, Reach 1); Spd 30 ft. ground; Init III; Atk V; Def III; Res III; Health II; Comp III; Skills: Blend V, Sneak V; Qualities: Darkvision I, interest (Evil, Lamashtu), meek, swarm, tough I.
7914  Community / License to Improvise / Re: [Fantasy Craft] Ravenloft on: September 25, 2009, 04:58:39 PM
I disagree about lesser heroes -- Ravenloft strikes me as endemic of the trope that all heroes are outsiders to the ralm they try to save or are essentially a breed apart from the common populance.
7915  Community / Play-by-Post / Re: Runelords on: September 25, 2009, 02:51:37 AM
First Action: Threaten action targetting nearest goblin -- 1d20+6 = 13.
Second Action: Threaten action targetting next nearest goblin -- 1d20+6=20

Laughing manically, Divia continues menacing the goblins with the remains of their fallen comrade. The violence of the movement eventually tears open the spitted corpse's belly, spilling its steaming entrails onto the ground.
7916  Community / License to Improvise / Re: Threat Display - How To Handle as NPC Quality? on: September 24, 2009, 10:45:13 PM
Have it happen during the night while the party is asleep, stressing when they realise what's happened that the creature is not doing anything threatening -- apart from of course using one of the PCs as a horsey.
7917  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Q&A Thread! on: September 24, 2009, 10:17:13 PM
When i think of acid damage, i think of Aliens - it's not something that just goes away on a failed save, it's sticking on you. It's just like being set on fire - just because you fail the save doesn't mean the fire goes out. Armor and lots of gear has more than 1 save before being destroyed, and until the acid neutralizes, it should be able to eat at the stuff.

Re-reading a couple times, I am now confused by how Acid Damage works on armor in general.

In particular, the second block: "Acid is particularly destructive against armor, which makes a Damage save once per round until the acid damage reaches 0. If even a single Damage save fails, the acid’s remaining damage is applied against both the armor and the character within in each round."

In a standard attack, if a character is hit, the character takes damage, not his gear.  I could not find anything anywhere that indicated a character could have his armor hit with acid without the character also being hit by acid.  It DOES say just before Acid Damage that "some damage types, such as acid, also damage a character’s gear or surroundings."  If I am taking Acid Damage from an attack and the GM decides that the damage also applies to my armor and it fails its save, am I now taking twice the damage I would have had I been standing there naked (once from the base attack and once again from the failed armor save)?

I had originally understood, seemingly incorrectly, the Acid Damage block to mean that your armor makes a save when you are first hit by acid and if it saved it was fine, but if it failed it had to continue saving each round for the acid damage.  But that doesn't seem to be the case.

How then would acid damage be applied to just the armor?  Would I need to make a called shot?  if I don't use a called shot, is the armor free from needing to take Acid Damage from the attack?  Or should I just make sure to use my acid attacks against the lightest armored guys on the field in hopes their armor will fail the save and I can do double Acid Damage to them?

My understanding of how acid damage works:

Let's say we have a character -- Kevin -- wearing partial studded leather (DR 2, Soft 2). He cops 12 pts of acid damage.

1st round he suffers 12 pts of damage, which his armour reduces by 2 to 10.
2nd round he suffers 6 pts of damage, which his armour reduces by 2 to 4.
3rd round he suffers 3 pts of damage, which his armour reduces by 2 to 1.
4th round he suffers 1 pt of damage, which his armour reducees by 2 to 0.

However, that 12 pts of damage requires his armour to make a save. Being Hard 2, that means he gets 2 saves (DC 10 + 1/2 damage) before it's broken (and thus stops working) and 4 before it's destroyed. Being Hard, each save is made with a +5 bonus. Being gear, each save usually ignores all preceeding damage.

This assumes he passes all saves.
1st round, his armour suffers 12 pts of damage --> DC 16.
2nd round, his armour suffers 6 pts of damage --> DC 13.
3rd round, his armour suffers 3 pts of damage --> DC 11.
4th round, his armour suffers 1 pt of damage --> DC 10.

Assuming he fails the final save:
5th round, his armour has only 1 save left until it becomes broken but suffers no damage.

Assuming he fails the 3rd save:
4th round, his armour has only 1 save left until it becomes broken & suffers 1 pt of damage on top of the standard save DC formula --> DC 11

Assuming he fails the 2nd save:
3rd round , his armour has only 1 save left until it becomes broken & suffers 3 pt of damage on top of the standard save DC formula --> DC 14

Assuming he fails the 1st save:
2nd round , his armour has only 1 save left until it becomes broken & suffers 6 pt of damage on top of the standard save DC formula --> DC 19

(yes I know it's ordered backwards but it makes it easier to see where the 1st point of failure cuts in, as the first failed save affects the DC of all subsequent saves).

Going back to the damage Kevin suffers and factoring in worst case armour failure:
1st round, armour fails 1st save, Keven suffers 12 - 2 = 10 damage.
2nd round, armour fails 2nd save & becomes broken no longer granting any DR, Kevin suffers 6 damage.
3rd round, armour fails 3rd save, Kevin suffers 3 damage.
4th round, armour fails 4th save & becomes destroyed, Kevin suffers 1 damage.
7918  Community / License to Improvise / [Fantasy Craft] Winter Elemental on: September 24, 2009, 08:02:36 PM
     Winter Elemental (Large Walking Elemental Spirit 155 XP). Str 10, Dex 10, Con 13, Int 4, Wis 10, Cha 10; Sz L (22, Reach 2); Spd 50 ft. ground; Init VI, Atk VII, Def VII, Res IV, Comp VII; Health V; Skills: Athletics V, Notice IV, Resolve V, Survival IV; Qualities: Achiles heel (fire), chameleon II (arctic), damage immunity (cold), damage reduction 5, dread, fearless II, feat (Ambush Basics), ferocity, grappler, superior traveller V, swift attack I, tough III.
     Attacks/Weapons: Avalanche (Squeeze I, Petrify II: 1d12 cold damage + 1/round DC 15 Fort save or become petrified); mighty blow (Slam III, Sprawl I: 2d8 cold + 1/round DC 15 Fort save or become sprawled, threat 19-20, AP 6, bleed, keen 4).
     Treasure: None.
     Tactics: Winter elementals typically remain incorporeal when not in combat, moving across the frozen wastes in the form of icy zephyrs or else laying in wait as snow drifts. Their speed and nature makes it easy for them to move ahead of their victims and lay a quick ambush. In the first round, a winter elemental will shift into its solid combat form (intangible) and attempt to deliver a mighty blows (via it's swift attack ability). At the beginning of the second round it will deliver another mighty blow; if the victim of this attack becomes sprawled, the elemental will collapse upon and attempt a grapple during which it will attemp tto freeze its victim to death (via its petrifying extraordinary attack linked to its squeeze grapple advantage). However, if the victim remains upright or the grapple attempt fails, the elemental will deliver another mighty blow at the beginning of its initiative count the following round and dissolve into a snow cloud (intangible) ready to begin the sequence again.



It's not an ice golem, but I think it's definitely more in line with what you've described of the set up, the setting and the description of the creature itself.
7919  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Q&A Thread! on: September 24, 2009, 03:20:12 AM
A grapple is an attack action, not an attack check
7920  Community / License to Improvise / Re: [Fantasycraft] The Foul Tongue of Acheron on: September 23, 2009, 10:25:42 PM
Thanks!
Can you wikify it?

In a little while.


Quote
I can almost see an epic duel between a group of dark elves and a single warrior  Grin.

The answer is Dwarves. Dwarves and their bad bad habit of diging mines into the dark places of the world. Just imagine the Mines of Moria sequence with these instead of goblins...

Quote
"I like to keep this handy for close encounters."Pulls out a hand crossbow with poisoned darts.

I see your action and raise it with this:

"I like to keep this handy. For close encounters."
Pulls out Tiny drake Personal Lieutentant named Lockheed...
Pages: 1 ... 526 527 [528] 529 530 ... 762


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!