Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 27, 2015, 03:04:04 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

  Show Posts
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 632
31  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: April 09, 2015, 04:52:50 PM
Does that mean that you can't go "CAN'T STOP THE ROCK" mode and slam through multiple walls with an extremely high bullrush check?

This is beyond the intentional design limitations of the Bull Rush check *. It could be possible (e.g. varying thicknesses and densities of wood), but it sometimes it probably shouldn't be (several inches of oak) and other times it probably should (1 inch of balsa). Therefore, the rules do not cover breaching - again, by design - both to keep things simpl-ish and to let the GM adjudicate each scenario on the fly.

* According to its original concept, Bull Rush covers pushing, not breaching. These are two different activities that only sometimes overlap. The first is easy to concisely cover in a single combat action. The second makes the Baby Maker week in his crib for the many, many, oh so very [bleep]ing many situational, conditional, and exceptional cases. We chose to cover the first in its entirety and leave the second entirely to the GM - for this very reason.

Quote
Also, if you reach the limit of your movement speed, but still have bullrush distance left, do you launch your opponent the remainder, or does he fall sprawled in the square adjacent to you?

In most cases your opponent only moves according to the explicit Bull Rush rules. Certain exceptions may apply, according to standard GM caveat.
32  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: April 08, 2015, 09:35:51 PM
So you're saying that a successful bullrush lets you move further than your normal move?

No, I am specifically not.

Your original movement doesn't change. If you succeed with the Bull Rush, you can move as far along behind the BR'd character as his or her new position allows; otherwise, you can't. Das fin.

That second quote's language is very vague, almost purposefully.

You can move as far along the BR'd character as:

A)Your check allows
B)The remainder of your movement speed
C)The lesser of your remaining movement speed or the check


C, and you ALSO may not continue to move if there's an obstruction
33  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: April 06, 2015, 12:17:24 AM
So you're saying that a successful bullrush lets you move further than your normal move?

No, I am specifically not.

Your original movement doesn't change. If you succeed with the Bull Rush, you can move as far along behind the BR'd character as his or her new position allows; otherwise, you can't. Das fin.
34  Community / Customer Service / Re: Is the forum having issues with cell phones? on: April 02, 2015, 02:58:29 AM
Or maybe it was a random April fools prank?

Not an intentional one.

Is there anything we can do to help test for or solve this problem? I am not experiencing any issues here.
35  Community / Off-Topic / Re: Video game news and reaction on: April 02, 2015, 02:53:56 AM
I backed it on Kickstarter back in the day but it's landed during a period of insane frenzy for me. I'll get to it as soon as I can manage, though that may still be months off. Sad
36  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: How Spy Craft differs from Fantasy Craft? on: April 02, 2015, 02:50:50 AM
Having playtested the SC3 initiative system in the wild now, I freaking love it, and find it (at least so far) to be the best initiative system I've seen to date in any RPG, let alone Crafty's offerings.

You flatter us, sir. You really do. Grin
37  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: April 02, 2015, 02:49:49 AM
Your original movement doesn't change. If you succeed with the Bull Rush, you can move as far along behind the BR'd character as his or her new position allows; otherwise, you can't. Das fin.
38  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Mysterious Freelancer Revealed! Plus Spellbound Status Report! on: April 02, 2015, 02:47:11 AM
I checked several pages including the fantasycraft product page, first page of this thread and the last couple of pages of this thread, but I didn't see any changes...

as we reach the end of Q1 2015, just wanted to see if there was any updates...

hopefully whoever replies, doesn't reply with an "April Fools" at the end of the day.

Nothing's changed. The project's still moving right along. I'd planned to get an update out by end of last week but the work itself interceded. I've been so embroiled in these edits and trying to make as much headway as I could before heading off to WonderCon this weekend that the update slipped through the cracks.

Short version: editing is going well and I'm really pleased with how the project is coming together. Alex has done a stellar job finally pulling all the loose pieces together and cementing the unified whole we've all been seeing for ages. I still expect to launch the rolling releases sometime this month (April), as I amended last week.

I'll get you a more detailed update as soon as I can, which at this point means sometime next week, since people start arriving from out of town very early tomorrow morning.

Thanks!
39  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: March 28, 2015, 12:27:23 PM
Just noticed something funny when I was catching up on the Let's Read thread.   I came across mention of Cooperative checks. and looked on pg. 66 which says that a leader is only supposed to get help from up to 5 helpers.  But the Grapple rules say that up to 8 grapplers (all of whom use the Cooperate check rules) can dog-pile on a creature larger than them.  Guess that's just an exception to the 5 limit?  It's probably something that doesn't come up in actual play that often.  8 players, even if NPCs are included seems kinda rare.  I'm not sure I really have question here, just pointing out a small anomaly.

Card game rules application - specific trumps general. So yes, an exception.
40  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: March 28, 2015, 12:26:43 PM
If memory serves: Not an action and on their initiative count.

True.

Quote
Since RAW says "…must take at least 1 Standard Move action…", it appears that they make the mandatory move and then (implied) may make a check, or move twice and make the check, their option. 

Either/or, depending on situation. Up to GM.

Quote
Also, since it says they MAY make a resolve check, presumably they might choose to remain frightened to get away from whatever it is.   

Aw, sorry everyone…  I failed my save against Beatup-ilthon The Mighty.  Still running away! Wink

Legit.
41  Community / Off-Topic / Re: Video game news and reaction on: March 26, 2015, 03:55:22 PM
Sword Coast Legends: First Look - Dungeon Crawl
42  Community / Off-Topic / Re: Movie Night, Yo. on: March 24, 2015, 10:46:04 AM

The timing on this... Not for nothin' but let's all talk again come July. Smiley

It was supposed to be released in December so Paramount moved it due to Spectre and Star Wars. Smart move.

And a very fortuitous one for us. Smiley
43  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Fantasy Craft Second Printing Q&A Thread on: March 24, 2015, 07:12:57 AM
let me know if this is correct:
casting Nature Ally (any) is a full round action, meaning that the caster starts casting at his initiative count and the spell goess off at his next initiative count (in the meanwhile any time he's distracted by an attack or anything else, he has to roll Resolve to not lose the spell);
when the casting time is completed, the spell goes off and summons the creature, which cannot act during the current round; the caster has his full action allotment for this round.
Third round, the summoned creature can act.

Yes.

Quote
It seems a bit too long to be very useful in the middle of a combat, considering that the summoned creature could just be killed in the round in which it appears and cannot act, even if on paper the summons look very strong (so probably it's just for balancing, but I want to be sure of that)

Summoning is one of those close-to-broken forms for magic that everyone takes for granted. For all intents and purposes it introduces new characters that are sometimes (in some games, often) under the players' control. That's a whole new set of actions, abilities, and more that acts as a force magnifier for the entire party. It's insanely powerful. Honestly, even with the brakes we've put on it in Fantasy Craft I'd still be extremely apprehensive about including it in a campaign. Thus all the squishy restrictions as well (like leaving the actual actions, motivations, and goals of summoned creatures up to the GM).

Quote
Can a caster use the summoning spells more than once at the same time, thus having more summoned creatures active at the same time? I've checked and nothing seems to say that it's impossible.

I would rule that no single caster can have multiple sets of summoned creatures in play at once but again, in the RAW this is up to the GM.
44  Community / Off-Topic / Re: Movie Night, Yo. on: March 24, 2015, 07:07:28 AM

The timing on this... Not for nothin' but let's all talk again come July. Smiley
45  Community / Off-Topic / Re: Reaperwatch 2015 on: March 24, 2015, 06:58:21 AM
Alberta Watson of both Nikita series and 24 has passed.

http://www.thewrap.com/alberta-watson-nikita-24-actress-dead-at-60/

RIP


She was 60? She looked good for 60.

Sad to see her go.
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 632


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!