Back to Crafty Games Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2014, 09:01:44 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Welcome to the Crafty Games Forums!

Note to New Members: To combat spam, we have instituted new rules: you must post 5 replies to existing threads before you can create new threads.

  Show Posts
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
1  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions on: April 20, 2014, 10:59:29 AM
1. Minimum TL is 1.
2. Unless an NPC has the veteran quality, their TL equals the adventure's TL.  The exception is things like Personal Lieutenants, which have their own rules for determining TL.  Also, remember you have dials other than TL to tweak to boost tension (individual grades, power of attacks, etc.).
3. My guess is the intent was "These scenes are dramatic if Menace is high enough."  You ruling would be fine, however.
4. Correct.
5. Definitely a misprint.
2  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Path of Chaos needs a fix on: April 06, 2014, 09:55:56 PM
Unless an option states they can use multiple dice, only one can be applied to a roll.
3  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions on: April 05, 2014, 08:55:39 PM
Same as vitality.
4  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: A little something fun for Spellbound on: March 04, 2014, 05:50:02 PM
Is there anything we can do as a community to help? (Or not do, for that matter - I've a few crude spell-related home brew ideas I'm putting up on license to improvise, and I'm a little concerned putting up a lot of such stuff may not be great for the mysterious stranger's headspace).

Is there anything not directly related to Spellbound we can do, like the call for proofreaders a while back, to give Alex more time to help the Mysterious Freelancer?
5  Community / Off-Topic / Re: KickStarter thread on: March 04, 2014, 03:52:02 PM
Koe, a JRPG designed to teach Japanese.
6  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Too MANY skill points? Wait a minute... on: January 24, 2014, 09:35:22 AM
This give you an extra spell and Vitality point. It also reduces your skill point issue. Your Int will rise to 18 at second level, 20 at eleventh and 22 at nineteenth. Each of those rises will increase you total skill points by your then level (skill points from Int are retroactive).

17, 18, 19 actually (with skill point bonus occurring at lvl 11).
7  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: A little something fun for Spellbound on: December 16, 2013, 06:00:15 PM
The Casting Level Bonus Essence only works on spells from one school.
8  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Critical Surge + Bladestorm = Ten Half Actions with one roll of a 20? on: December 07, 2013, 09:11:11 AM
Except "This cost is paid separately for each hit, even when multiple hits are scored with a single attack or action" implies that they should be treated as different crits, thus the discount seems to apply to each.
9  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Questions on: November 09, 2013, 10:38:26 AM
Yay, a Q&A thread.

I have a couple things that have been running through my head since reading the rulebook, which don't really seem to be answered or brought up in threads that I've seen.

1) I have a character with Acid Resistance (say from Angelic Legacy) and am wearing armor. I get hit by an acid attack. Is the Acid Resistance deducted from the damage before it affects the armor? Or do I have to keep track of it burning away my plate, while it has ceased to effect my character, separately?

2) Is Scare really the best spell in the game? On success, Frightened. On failure, Shaken. Shaken V takes the target out of the game (unconscious), seemingly for the rest of the scene. Except for Constructs, Undead and creatures with Spell Reflection, failing it 5 times would incapacitate anything.

3) Since they have no type, the Threat Range property on Prizes can stack for any given skill, correct? Since Spellcasting is a skill (nothing in the description explicitly excludes it, like in the Prodigal Skill feat), I can use them to increase the threat range of spells. By having a masterwork Mage's Pouch (remove error range), Casting Supremacy (threat range 17-20) and 8 Threat Range, Greater Prizes (threat range now 1-20), I will now always crit my spells, and be able to activate the crit for free. Using the crit to refund spellpoints effectively gives the character unlimited spell points.

4) Do summoned creatures pay Preparation Costs for spells they cast, or does the person who summoned them have to pay for them? It says 'caster', but that is a bit nebulous with summons. Using Call From Beyond I, you can use the default Advisor I template as the summoned creature. This has access to Natural Spell (Identify I), which has a Preparation Cost of 1. Do I have to pay it for creatures I have summoned? For Identify, it is relatively minor, but what happens if you summon a creature that has Power Word: Kill? Or something really crazy like Resurrection III?

5) Related to #4. The Advisor I summoned creature has the Natural Spell (Identify I). Does the Natural Spell NPC ability change the casting time of the spells, or does the casting time remain the same? In this case, Identify I has a casting time of 8 hours, on a creature that is summoned for only up to 20 (or 40) minutes.

Thanks if any of you can clarify these things for me.

1.  It's deducted first.
2. Getting them to fail 5 times is harder than it seems you think it is.  Important special characters are likely to have high enough saves that it will take too long to get them to fail and standard/minor special characters will likely die to damage too fast for it to be useful.
3. I believe this works how you want it to, but a) remember crits only happen on successes and b)  given the huge cost in Prize slots and Reputation (particularly with the cost of raising Renown), this isn't likely to be very broken.
4.  Unsure, but I believe this came up somewhere on the board before.  I'll see if I can find it.  My gut says the player still has to pay the cost.
5.  This should help: http://www.crafty-games.com/forum/index.php?topic=3946.msg136765#msg136765
10  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Crafting and Focii on: October 06, 2013, 11:22:26 PM
One possibility is to allow fortes in crafting focuses so characters can be good at a narrower range of fields.  Also, you can rule that the rank you gain a focus counts as your first rank in that focus.  For example, someone with 10 ranks in Craft would count all 10 ranks for his first focus, but only 7 for his second and 3 for his third.
11  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Spells and character type on: September 25, 2013, 08:47:39 PM
How about a feat that allows you to choice one extra type for all of your type based spells?

I had the same idea yesterday, but I think it's a too narrow benefict for a feat. By now, IIRC charm is the only spell that relys on your own type.

Maybe a Spellcasting trick (possibly as part of a feat)?
12  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Gen Con Schedule's Live! So... Fantasy Craft... on: September 15, 2013, 03:45:35 PM
I wish...

My campaign is dependent upon this publication to arrive, so it can start.  I have a player that wants to be a spell caster, but without Spellcraft we don't know what options exist other than Mage, so we're just kind of sitting around waiting.


Unfortunately, they have stopped pre-orders of Spellbound because they are doing something special with those that had already pre-ordered.



The bigger issue issue is that they don't feel ethically comfortable with having preorders for a product whose release date is up in the air.
13  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Arcane Battlesuits on: May 29, 2013, 09:15:46 PM
Specifically a personal lieutenant who is a mount.
14  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Exploding enemies (aka Death Throes) and question about Burden of Ages on: May 29, 2013, 12:31:00 PM
sure thing, but the problem isn't awarding the experience... I'm only fearing that this encounter could be "too much" for just a party of two-three persons.
Or I'm wrong and FC will prove to be even more awesome than it already is?

I meant in terms of how much damage his death throes deal.
15  Products / Fantasy Craft / Re: Exploding enemies (aka Death Throes) and question about Burden of Ages on: May 29, 2013, 08:43:29 AM
hey guys, I'm about to finish The Darkest Hour, but I need a suggestion.
Do you think that the final scene can be handled by two, max three characters? I had started with 5 but two guys can't be present.
Exlcuding the flexible and easy way of changing the mob sizes, which I have already experimented with success, should I pay attention to something in particular in order to not outright kill them with the special character and his buddy at the end? Let me know!

Remember that the buddy is a standard character, and therefore his XP value is (base XP)/(party size).
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!